SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Sep 04, 2014, 08:26 PM
Joined Sep 2014
14 Posts
Help!
A123 3s2p battery pack setup help

I want to build a quadcopter but I have never built anything like this before, which is why after researching this topic I am scared to use the common LiPo batteries because of its tendency to explode violently or catch fire. This is why I am planning instead to use A123 batteries which seem to be safer and less prone to catching fire or exploding. So my first question is:

1. How much safer are the A123 batteries than using Lipo batteries? Do they also burn up / explode? And also how dangerous really are the Lipo batteries? How common is it for them to catch fire. I know it is mostly caused by user mistakes but from all the posts about them catching fire it seems that it is almost inevitable that all these lipo batteries will eventually explode or at the very least puff up and become a safety hazard.

2. Are the HobbyKing LiFePo4 packs that look like the lipo packs any good? Like this one: http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...Search=lifepo4
And do they have the same safety advantages and longer life that the A123 batteries have? This seems to be the cheapest option to get a Life battery for the quadcopter.

So my plan is to use these A123 2500mah batteries from the official reseller of the A123 systems:

This is the site I am planning on purchasing these from:
http://www.buya123batteries.com/ANR2...300475-306.htm
which are $9.75 each and should be good quality since this is the official reseller of these batteries. So my next question about these batteries:

3. Are the batteries that come from this website good quality and good for using for this purpose? Also it would help to know how long this site usually takes to deliver them. I live in California so I'm hoping they can deliver within a week since it seems they are located in the U.S, but has anyone tried ordering from here?