HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 29, 2014, 09:26 PM
Tim Lampe; Hobbico R&D
Champaign, IL
Joined Dec 2009
3,774 Posts
Discussion
Scratch-built GP Viper 500 fuse for 426

I've learned about most of the modifications apparently required for the Great Planes Viper 500 fuselage for pylon racing. I'm going to get into Q-500 426 and I plan to build a couple Vipers this winter. I got my first one and after examining the fuse and contemplating the modifications, I decided it just might be better to design a new one with the fixes built in. I'm new to 426, and kind of new to pylon racing, so feel free to give me comments/suggestions along the way (even if it's too late in my build).

One of the main fixes I've learned about is changing the stab incidence -- apparently the Viper flies with lots of up trim requiring the trailing edge of the stab to be shimmed up about 1/16" or somewhere thereabouts (reducing stab incidence which would take out that up trim) . From what I can find, the incidences should be 0 - 0 - 0 (motor 0, wing 0, stab 0). But from examining the original design drawings the incidences are already 0 - 0 - 0. I fit mine together and everything measured out 0 - 0 - 0, or perhaps the stab was positive .5 to 1 degree depending on how hard I pressed down on the incidence meter. If, indeed the stab is positive, this correlates to up elevator trim needed. In any case, I'll not change the incidences on my fuse design and will just make sure the motor, wing and stab measure out at 0 - 0 - 0.