SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 06, 2013, 09:31 PM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2011
87 Posts
Discussion
Servo bandwidth

Trying to setup a CopterX gyro and match it to my TR servo.

CopterX options are 1520us 250HZ

1520us 333HZ

760us 400HZ

960us 333HZ

I've read somewhere that if incorrect settings are used the gyro or servo or even both can be destroyed. Do servo manufacturers publish this kind of info?

I've searched for various servo specs, but I've not seen this info included in any specs.


Anyone?

Boowho??
boowho is offline Find More Posts by boowho
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 06, 2013, 11:43 PM
Closed Account
Joined Aug 2007
4,497 Posts
What servo do you have?
eagle777 is offline Find More Posts by eagle777
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 07, 2013, 04:46 AM
A man with too many toys
United States
Joined Feb 2001
17,783 Posts
The gyro settings have to exactly match your servo specifications.
RC Man is online now Find More Posts by RC Man
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 07, 2013, 12:27 PM
Registered User
omgsales's Avatar
Hong Kong, New Territories
Joined Aug 2012
127 Posts
The futaba's is 333Hz in 1500us!
So any servos compatible with Futaba's has the same!
In fact, many servo manufacturer do not know that!
omgsales is offline Find More Posts by omgsales
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 07, 2013, 02:31 PM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2011
87 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by eagle777 View Post
What servo do you have?
GoTec GS D-9253

It's apparently compatible with the Futaba 9253 which means 1520 and 333

My understanding is that the servo also comes as 760, but unless you have the original packaging there is no way to tell which one you have, since the model numbers are identical and no markings on the servo itself.

Thanks all....

Boowho??
boowho is offline Find More Posts by boowho
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 07, 2013, 03:24 PM
Registered User
War Horse's Avatar
United States, FL, Hernando
Joined Sep 2012
1,460 Posts
I subscribed to this thread to see if anyone had an answere for your one question, which was " Do servo manufacturers publish this kind of info?" or more precisely , is there some data base for looking up various servo specs of this nature.

Not one of my 20+ servos came with that information. Very frustrating indeed
War Horse is offline Find More Posts by War Horse
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 07, 2013, 04:16 PM
WOS
Registered User
United States, IN, Michigan City
Joined Nov 2003
808 Posts
A good point!
Can everyone list their favorite servo database other than www.servodatabase.com?
WOS is offline Find More Posts by WOS
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 07, 2013, 04:21 PM
Registered User
mmracecars's Avatar
United States, MI, Harrison Township
Joined Jan 2012
283 Posts
goteck servo

http://goteckrc.com/download.asp
mmracecars is online now Find More Posts by mmracecars
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 07, 2013, 06:54 PM
Closed Account
Joined Aug 2007
4,497 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by boowho View Post
GoTec GS D-9253

It's apparently compatible with the Futaba 9253 which means 1520 and 333

My understanding is that the servo also comes as 760, but unless you have the original packaging there is no way to tell which one you have, since the model numbers are identical and no markings on the servo itself.

Thanks all....

Boowho??
I see your point, it is hard if not impossible to tell the two apart except by experimentation possibly. I don't know of a database myself, sorry.
eagle777 is offline Find More Posts by eagle777
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 07, 2013, 07:07 PM
Registered User
Denver, CO
Joined Dec 2005
6,306 Posts
He said its the D version. I figure of the 9257, since 9253 is not listed.
Roto Rob is online now Find More Posts by Roto Rob
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 07, 2013, 07:12 PM
Closed Account
Joined Aug 2007
4,497 Posts
I noticed that, but am not familiar with GoTec other than their one 9257 I've owned. I wasn't sure if it was not included in the list, but available.
eagle777 is offline Find More Posts by eagle777
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 08, 2013, 03:16 PM
Registered User
omgsales's Avatar
Hong Kong, New Territories
Joined Aug 2012
127 Posts
In fact, the frequency is not the most important data, so they don't show it !
Any servo maker will bring you a new frequency as they want.
Because the compatiblity is the radio. if your radio has good compatibility, then it works well!
omgsales is offline Find More Posts by omgsales
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 08, 2013, 05:32 PM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2008
1,667 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by omgsales View Post
The futaba's is 333Hz in 1500us!
So any servos compatible with Futaba's has the same!
In fact, many servo manufacturer do not know that!
Not true. Many of their servos that are designed for best Gyro functioning (e.g.S9256 & BLS251) with gyro units that can be used with them will use the shorter 750US bandwith and fast rate of 400Hz.
rotoraddict is offline Find More Posts by rotoraddict
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 08, 2013, 05:34 PM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2008
1,667 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by omgsales View Post
In fact, the frequency is not the most important data, so they don't show it !
Any servo maker will bring you a new frequency as they want.
Because the compatiblity is the radio. if your radio has good compatibility, then it works well!
The radio has little to do with the bandwith of the servo used. This selection (e.g. 1520, 960 or 760) is critical in setting for function with various gyros and FBl units.
rotoraddict is offline Find More Posts by rotoraddict
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 08, 2013, 06:19 PM
Registered User
Denver, CO
Joined Dec 2005
6,306 Posts
Also, if the frequency is to high the servo motor will get hot. So if the servo is not designed to handle 333hz, the 250hz setting will be better.
Roto Rob is online now Find More Posts by Roto Rob
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Axon - Pictures Attached (not for the bandwidth challenged) Bill K. Parkflyers 38 Dec 17, 2003 03:04 PM
HELP! Exceeded bandwidth. doc-e Webhosting 1 Oct 29, 2003 06:57 AM
RFFS-100 bandwidth? del Scratchbuilt Indoor and Micro Models 2 Mar 02, 2003 01:31 AM
switchback construction pics (not for the bandwidth challenged) Martin Hunter Parkflyers 31 Apr 16, 2002 02:42 AM