HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jul 06, 2011, 08:53 PM
United States, NC, Greensboro
Joined May 2011
39 Posts
Help!
Help me ID a component found loose in my brushless outrunner, please

Greetings all--

I'm still brand new to the hobby, and have only about five flights on my E-Flite Apprentice. On my only two serious crashes, I've lost perception of depth and flown the plane totally controlled into obstacles. The second obstacle was power lines, and after the plane dangled there for a second threatening to seriously embarrass me by not coming down, it augered nearly straight down onto firm soil.

The motor, a brushless outrunner, was pulled in two with the rotor and stator pulled away from the backplate. Turning the shaft caused a clicking noise that was nearly ratcheting, that is, sometimes preventing backwards rotation. After much exploring with an eye loupe, I found a small cylindrical piece of metal, slightly magnetized, rolling around between the windings and magnets on the bell.

After removing the piece, the motor seems to run correctly again, and I'm at a loss as to what function the piece served... speed signal for the ESC, perhaps? So, here's a picture of the piece next to my knife for scale.

Anybody able to say with reasonable certainty what my motor's now missing?
EightOhMike is offline Find More Posts by EightOhMike
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 06, 2011, 09:45 PM
OFF TOPIC POSTER
Des Moines IA
Joined Dec 2005
4,811 Posts
Was it on the outsideof the motor?
Might have nothing to do with the motor as the mags might have picked it up.
Just a guess or part of the shaft.
eckace1 is online now Find More Posts by eckace1
Old Jul 06, 2011, 10:04 PM
Reduce the drama...
USA, OR, Damascus
Joined Apr 2004
4,044 Posts
Hi Mike,
Looks like a roller bearing.
rick.benjamin is offline Find More Posts by rick.benjamin
Old Jul 06, 2011, 10:20 PM
just look at it smokin'
Joined Dec 2005
1,233 Posts