HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jul 02, 2010, 01:58 PM
Gliders 3D Gaui X5 and 450Pro
SoarWest's Avatar
USA, AZ, Maricopa
Joined Apr 2010
323 Posts
Discussion
How to set up a 7-channel glider on a DX7?

I am looking for thoughts on how to setup a 7-channel glider on a Spektrum DX7. In the manual you can turn on flapperons and have a decent 4 channel setup. It also looks like I could map flaps to one of the aux switches.

What I was hoping is this:
Use the 3 way switch on the upper left to have 3 modes that control flaps.
0: just a touch of reflex (fast)
1: normal thermalling
2: Landing (full flaps down).

A 4th mode would be really nice, a launch mode with the trailing edge dropped a little but I'm not seeing a way to do that currently.

If I get the flaps controlled by switches perhaps I could use the throttle in the regular mode 1 position for the engine?

Has anyone been able to do this?
Thanks.
SoarWest is offline Find More Posts by SoarWest
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 02, 2010, 03:01 PM
Registered User
frogbmth's Avatar
Poole, England
Joined Jun 2008
56 Posts
A friend of mine has struggled with the same thing, and has found this thread of great use

http://rcudev.rcuniverse.com/forum/m.../tm.htm#870401
frogbmth is offline Find More Posts by frogbmth
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 02, 2010, 11:35 PM
Gliders 3D Gaui X5 and 450Pro
SoarWest's Avatar
USA, AZ, Maricopa
Joined Apr 2010
323 Posts
Wow, great find, that appears to be exactly what I was looking for.

Update: after testing this out, it works perfectly for my case and resolves all issues... NICE.
Thank-you very much for the great link!!
SoarWest is offline Find More Posts by SoarWest
Last edited by SoarWest; Jul 03, 2010 at 01:58 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 03, 2010, 04:37 PM
Gliders 3D Gaui X5 and 450Pro
SoarWest's Avatar
USA, AZ, Maricopa
Joined Apr 2010
323 Posts
Update: I have all of these instructions working now but still need to have a throttle hold on the upper right switch as I'm used to with Helis. I need a "panic" button that shuts down the throttle so to speak. Any ideas for how to implement this?

Thanks!
SoarWest is offline Find More Posts by SoarWest
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2012, 08:41 PM
Screamin' fast!
CrazyJB's Avatar
United States, CA, San Jose
Joined Nov 2011
142 Posts
Can you make those instructions available again? The link is bad. I have been spent weeks trying to program my 7 channel glider and all anyone else has to offer defeats my variable throttle on the throttle stick.

Thanks -Joel
CrazyJB is offline Find More Posts by CrazyJB
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion How to set up a throttle in an electric glider. ggergk Electric Sailplanes 26 Jul 09, 2010 08:46 AM
Question How do I set-up differential on a Pete n Poke? garyinpa Beginner Training Area (Fuel) 2 Apr 09, 2010 01:07 PM
Discussion How to set up v tail on AP eagle? randall1959 Aerial Photography 36 Jan 13, 2010 08:09 PM
Discussion Need a little help, DX7 set up with R/E glider. Lota Fun R Electric Plane Talk 8 Dec 24, 2008 07:11 AM
Discussion my first glider need help with tips on how to set it up newtohelis Electric Sailplanes 2 Dec 15, 2007 02:06 AM