New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Jan 23, 2016, 10:06 PM
Lentar is offline
Find More Posts by Lentar
Registered User
Joined Oct 2012
1,083 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by HGhost View Post
I like the little short one armed one in the front
Ok, thanks! Is it ok if I put both the aileron control wires in one hole or do I put them into two adjacent holes?
Lentar is offline Find More Posts by Lentar
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 24, 2016, 12:56 AM
HGhost is offline
Find More Posts by HGhost
Eye in the Sky
HGhost's Avatar
United States, WV
Joined Sep 2013
3,983 Posts
IF you are using them for the Ailerons, it is probably best if you use the Servo Arm you circled

I do not think you can get Both rods into one hole

IF you put in separate holes you will get more travel on one than the other

I missed your post where it said "aileron"

All of mine have the little servo arm, except the servo for the ailerons
HGhost is offline Find More Posts by HGhost
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 24, 2016, 09:08 AM
Lentar is offline
Find More Posts by Lentar
Registered User
Joined Oct 2012
1,083 Posts
Unfortunately I don't have the type I circled, since I got the kit without any electronics. I do have a servo with a round servo arm that I could use. Will that be ok?
Lentar is offline Find More Posts by Lentar
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2016, 02:10 PM
HGhost is offline
Find More Posts by HGhost
Eye in the Sky
HGhost's Avatar
United States, WV
Joined Sep 2013
3,983 Posts
Where the Aileron servo sets There is no room for a round "arm"...there is just a slot there.

You can try to put both control linkages in one hole....it will work if you make the hole larger on that smaller arm .

the way i have found easiest to do that is, I use a large sewing needle hold it with pliers...and heat the needle and then insert it in the hole to enlarge the hole to the right size without making it to large or cracking the plastic.
HGhost is offline Find More Posts by HGhost
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 24, 2016, 04:37 PM
Late99 is offline
Find More Posts by Late99
Registered User
Late99's Avatar
Finland
Joined Aug 2013
354 Posts
If you've got some modelling ply or even old credit card or similar plastic you can modify your own arm like the original one. Just cut little larger piece, drill those two holes and then glue this to original single arm and use couple of small screws to ensure that it will stay fixed...

You just need some very basic tools such as knife & small drill.

I've done several extended arms using this technique.
Late99 is offline Find More Posts by Late99
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2016, 05:22 PM
Lentar is offline
Find More Posts by Lentar
Registered User
Joined Oct 2012
1,083 Posts
HGhost and Late99:
Some very interesting ideas! I can do that with CC plastic. (I have also found a simple way to use a cheap, readily available 2212 motor with the spring mount, which I will post later)
Lentar is offline Find More Posts by Lentar
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2016, 03:43 AM
NubiNewbie is online now
Find More Posts by NubiNewbie
Registered User
Joined Jul 2015
22 Posts
Ghheee!!! Yak12 PNF on backorder in Europe as well as Int.warehouse!
But they have the ARF/kit-version, so maybe that's a way to go.

* Standard 9g servos fit nicely everywhere?
* Any info/advice on alternative motors? The HK-suggestion D2826-6 2200kv is supposed to give 342w/34A - isn't that a bit overpowered?
* Also reads like fitting alternative motors is a bit awkward - any advice?

Thanks!
NubiNewbie is online now Find More Posts by NubiNewbie
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2016, 10:58 AM
Lentar is offline
Find More Posts by Lentar
Registered User
Joined Oct 2012
1,083 Posts
1. My simple solution to the motor problem. Here I have a 2212-2200kV motor. I used two shims (arrow pointing to one set) and a longer mounting screw through the 16mm holes in the motor. The shims lift the motor can away from the mounting plate, allowing me to use my $7.50 motor and prop adapter, rather than the expensive 2226 motor that is difficult to find.

2. 9g micro servos will fit, but you will need a special servo horn for the aileron servo wires (see my posts and the solutions proposed by HGhost and late99). You could also get the copterx 9g servo which has that type of horn.

3. The kit has 2 props which you can't use unless your motor has a 3mm shaft for the included prop adapter. So you will need a collet type adapter for your props plus props. I will use 64e props.

4. For the ESC I am going to use a YEP 30A.

If you are a true newbie, I would suggest wait for the PNF to come back in stock instead of getting the ARF.


Name: uploadfromtaptalk1453823540854.jpg
Views: 9
Size: 82.4 KB
Description:
Lentar is offline Find More Posts by Lentar
Last edited by Lentar; Jan 26, 2016 at 11:21 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2016, 02:29 AM
NubiNewbie is online now
Find More Posts by NubiNewbie
Registered User
Joined Jul 2015
22 Posts
Thanks!
Seems it would be wise waiting!
NubiNewbie is online now Find More Posts by NubiNewbie
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2016, 11:24 AM
NubiNewbie is online now
Find More Posts by NubiNewbie
Registered User
Joined Jul 2015
22 Posts
...or does anybody has another suggestion for a rather small newbie-plane that can easily be handlaunched (bellylanding is also OK)?
My SportsCub S is so light/small it's very sensitive for wind, so a slightly larger plane was what I was looking for when the Yak12 came up - and then disappeared into the backordered items...
NubiNewbie is online now Find More Posts by NubiNewbie
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2016, 03:59 PM
HGhost is offline
Find More Posts by HGhost
Eye in the Sky
HGhost's Avatar
United States, WV
Joined Sep 2013
3,983 Posts
Well I use the E-Flite SAFE Reciever in multiple planes, so almost every plane can be a beginners type plane .

I have an array of planes, I like the size of the Yak 12, and it is hard to find good planes in that size most are always larger or far smaller

The Wilga is a very nice plane it has flaps, it flies much like the Yak 12, it is the same size

The Hobby Zone Super Cub is a nice plane-but it is 3 ch and has SAFE
Also the Delta Ray is a nice plane it also has SAFE but has brushed motors
The Apprentice or the Sportsman S Plus...but both are very large.
Hobbyzone Stratus

just depends on what you are looking for.
HGhost is offline Find More Posts by HGhost
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 31, 2016, 08:51 AM
Lentar is offline
Find More Posts by Lentar
Registered User
Joined Oct 2012
1,083 Posts
Like HGhost said, you could get the Hobbyking Wilga (fraternal twin of Yak 12). Or check the Hobbyking Sky Easy (1050mm pusher prop belly lander) in my opinion the best looking pusher prop out there.
Lentar is offline Find More Posts by Lentar
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product EasySky 5Ch Yak-12 tymodel Scale ARF/RTF 2 Apr 30, 2014 12:23 AM
Build Log Rc-Drones Kong8 XL 950mm X8 build w/AG550-NX gimbal Z06 Tony Multirotor Talk 23 Jul 21, 2012 12:15 PM
Discussion 12" WS Yak Torque Issue super_dork 3D Foamies 3 Apr 16, 2012 03:29 AM
For Sale Great Planes 51" Yak-55M Wheel Pants + Wheels NIB $12 Shipped CONUS parkflyer215 Aircraft - General - Miscellaneous (FS/W) 3 Feb 27, 2012 12:49 PM