HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Apr 03, 2013, 10:43 PM
Fly it like you STOL it!
United States, FL, Daytona Beach
Joined Jan 2011
4,043 Posts
Discussion
Cheapest/Best way to get into competition sailplanes?

I've been flying for a few years, everything from warbirds to aerobats to micros to 1/4 scale, but only just recently I got a chance to try out gliders. I flew a friend's radian for an hour or two and caught a thermal...and I had a blast! on my second flight I kept it up for 45 minutes and loved every second.

So my question is, since so far I really like sailplanes, what would be the best way to get into doing it competitively? I think I'll like the challenge. I'm not looking to put an extreme amount of money into it, and I'm not really sure what kinds of sailplane competitions are out there, but I think I definitely want to try it out. That radian was just too fun to fly.

I think I'm interested in either an electric glider or a DLG for right now, unless there are other good options to bring to the table.
Endlesslag is online now Find More Posts by Endlesslag
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 03, 2013, 10:49 PM
Hot Dawg Glider Pilot
United States, TX, Weatherford
Joined Nov 2002
7,792 Posts
There are used, competitive gliders for sale very often in the FS/W section. Welcome to our madness... Enjoy!!!
schrederman is offline Find More Posts by schrederman
Old Apr 04, 2013, 07:46 AM
Fly it like you STOL it!
Joined Jan 2011
4,043 Posts
I'm sure I will! I guess another big question is whether or not there are any events around my area..I've checked all the local clubs and none of them have sailplane events. Just IMAC, funflies, and heli flies. Is there a list anywhere? I checked the RCG calendar and didn't see much.
Old Apr 04, 2013, 08:14 AM
Chuck 'Em and Chase 'Em
United States, NY, Plainview
Joined Aug 2005
8,116 Posts
flyesl.org

Most TD and DLG contests on the East coast are listed there.
Fly2High is offline Find More Posts by Fly2High