HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Nov 08, 2003, 05:25 AM
easily confused
Nashville Metro, Tennessee, United States
Joined Sep 2003
2,183 Posts
Dumas Northrop Alpha R/C conversion build

Intro:

After reading about all of the successful Dumas 30" free flight kit conversions here I decided to do one as my first venture into mini electric IPS powered R/C...especially since Mike Molt's Hellcat is STILL UNAVAILABLE at the moment (harrumph...cough cough). I chose their kit #307, the Northrop Alpha.

Golden Age aircraft are high on my favorites list, but this plane particularly intrigues me, since it was a single piston engine, all-weather open cockpit (the poor pilot), taildragger airliner...with deicing equipment on the flight surfaces! After being displaced by the Boeing 247 and DC-3, the plane was used as a freight hauler, a subject near and dear to me, since that's just what I do for a living. Dumas' kit represents NC11Y, which currently hangs in the front hall of the National Air and Space Museum.

For the conversion, I elected to build the plane for three channel R/C, rudder, elevator, and throttle. I decided to omit the wing fillet for simplicity and weight; while the lack is evident, it's not a major feature of one's overall impression of the plane. Even the guy who built the model for the kit's box art didn't use it, which I didn't even notice till construction was well underway. I hate wing fillets, anyway...heaven help me if I decide to do Dumas' Aichi Val...

The most eye catching features of this model to my eye are the bold, Art-Deco style wheel spats, and the black rubber deice boots, which are a striking contrast to the otherwise all-aluminum finish. These were easily and lightly modeled.