Old May 07, 2015, 12:32 PM
Find More Posts by erospawn
United States, NC, Cary
Joined Aug 2010
118 Posts
Build Log
F-100D Build Log Col. Art Johnson Plans

Hi All,

Originally this started off as a question about foam core wings.. Since I got the question answered and already seem to have a thread going on my project, I just decided to convert this to a build thread.

I have a lot of experience scratch building all kinds of things, however, this is my first scratch of an Airplane/jet. I am using the plans from Col. Art Johnson. I plan on using a 120mm or somewhere there abouts EDF unit...

I guess it's still a scratch even though I am using plans and I paid someone else to cut the wood for me... saves me that much anyway. Everything else is up to me.

Hi All,

I have a question about foam core wings...I am in the process of building out a wing however, it calls for foam. What kind of foam do others use to make foam core wings? I've got plenty of that lowes foam I used for plugs, but I am not certain how suitable it would be for a foam core wing. I guess one concern is how heavy that foam might end up being.
erospawn is offline Find More Posts by erospawn
Last edited by erospawn; May 12, 2015 at 08:46 AM.
to remove ads between posts
Old May 07, 2015, 12:59 PM
Find More Posts by turbonut
Pro Hoarder
upland CA
Joined Dec 2004
8,400 Posts
Depends on many things.. what is the project? most use standard eps white foam..like the home depot stuff..I have used the same for a lot of wings but it is very soft. gliders tend to use blue foam or pink. weight of the foam will be up to the user opinion a lot.
turbonut is online now Find More Posts by turbonut
Old May 07, 2015, 01:05 PM
United States, NC, Cary
Joined Aug 2010
118 Posts
It's for an F-100 short kit...
Old May 07, 2015, 04:54 PM
Pro Hoarder
upland CA
Joined Dec 2004
8,400 Posts
I would use white styro...EPS home depot stuff..then balsa skin and glass
Old May 08, 2015, 07:22 AM
United States, NC, Cary
Joined Aug 2010