HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Oct 03, 2014, 09:58 PM
United States, KY, Cadiz
Joined Nov 2011
93 Posts
Discussion
help with soldering ? is this the correct form?

Hello , I keep having problems with getting solder to stick to the wire, just getting the wire tinted is hard. One set will solder up normally then the next is like the wire is contaminated ? I am kinda self taught so I am not even sure I am using the correct type of solder or temps ? Any tips would be great. thanks jeff
rockyboy2 is offline Find More Posts by rockyboy2
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 03, 2014, 10:03 PM
Y=C+I+G
United States, CA, Rosemead
Joined Jan 2012
8,252 Posts
1. clean surfaces thoroughly - use sandpaper.
2. use a 40W iron, minimum.
3. make sure you heat the wire and let the heat transfer to the solder held on top of it. then the solder melts and bathes the wire. if you touch the solder directly you will get a cold joint.
cmdl is online now Find More Posts by cmdl
Old Oct 03, 2014, 10:07 PM
Detroit 2-stroke junkie
USA, CA, Oceanside
Joined Jul 2008
3,333 Posts
When I solder I always have a damp sponge at my side.

Having a dirty crusted black tip is going to be a uphill battle and a quick run of the sponge over it makes it bright, shiny and clear.

In soldering Cleanliness is everything.
1320fastback is online now Find More Posts by 1320fastback
Old Oct 03, 2014, 10:10 PM
USA, MO, Florissant
Joined Nov 2010
1,763 Posts
What kind of wire? If you are trying to solder magnet wire, then the coating can be very hard to remove. If regular insulated wire, from which you have stripped the insulation, it should be shiny metal. If it is dull or blackened, it has oxidized, and you need to dip in in a bit of flux.
Wintr is offline Find More Posts by Wintr
Old Oct 03, 2014, 10:12 PM
I just want to fly
United States, MN, Eden Prairie
Joined Oct 2008
1,084 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockyboy2 View Post