SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Feb 13, 2012, 02:20 PM
United States, CA, Livermore
Joined Oct 2004
757 Posts
Discussion
What are your favorite F3P for Realflight?

What are your favorite models for practicing F3P on Realflight? I am up to V5.5 and have downloaded several from the Knife edge swap pages but I haven't found a realistic slow flyer yet. Most require too much AOA and descend too quickly. thanks
Husafreak is offline Find More Posts by Husafreak
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 15, 2012, 01:27 PM
United States, TX, Lubbock
Joined May 2011
40 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Husafreak View Post
... I haven't found a realistic slow flyer yet.
In my experience, the RealFlight (and other) simulators are useful tools for learning how to set up your airplane for your indoor flying site, to test ideas as to how to improve your aircraft design, or to acquire practice. While I’m not an expert, I can share some of my experiences and insights.

One reason you experienced difficulty is probably because the simulated planes are too heavy and nose heavy for aerobatics. You need to get the virtual weight down, e.g., 130 grams or less, and shift the battery (or alter the weight distribution of the wing, fuselage, etc) to obtain the desired center of gravity. All of this is done by “editing” the simulated airplanes parameters.

Begin with the simulated “Great Planes Yak 54 Foamy” airplane and fly the plane in the RealFlight “Gym”. To improve flight characteristics of this or any other airplane, you can try changing the area or planform of the wing, fuselage, etc. The following images illustrate my modifications (as compared to the original).