HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Closed Thread
Thread Tools
Old Nov 18, 2014, 11:58 AM
John
jk6672's Avatar
United States, CA, Heber
Joined Sep 2012
2,017 Posts
Discussion
wire leads

Where can I purchase some servo wire leads that can handle more than 5amps? The CC BEC states if you think your servos are going to draw more than 5 amps replace the leads.
jk6672 is online now Find More Posts by jk6672
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 18, 2014, 03:32 PM
Registered User
pilotpete2's Avatar
The Northeast Kingdom, Vermont
Joined Jun 2004
5,289 Posts
A 20awg servo lead is good for up to 11A going by the chassis wiring classification, the power transmission charts are not really relevant to our use.
Most servos come with leads that are heavy enough for the demands that the servo will place on it as long as the servo is not allowed to be in a stalled condition for any amount of time.
What servos are you using?
Pete
pilotpete2 is online now Find More Posts by pilotpete2
Old Nov 18, 2014, 04:08 PM
John
jk6672's Avatar
United States, CA, Heber
Joined Sep 2012
2,017 Posts
It's not for the servos, the BEC conectors. The servos in this particular set up are three hitec 5070's and on 5087
jk6672 is online now Find More Posts by jk6672
Old Nov 18, 2014, 04:57 PM
yank and bank!!
Joined May 2013
2,322 Posts
Wow that's pretty lame if the esc comes with wires that can't handle the current the bec can deliver, regardless of weight.
failboat is offline Find More Posts by failboat
Old Nov 18, 2014, 07:27 PM
Registered User
ggcrandall1's Avatar
USA, GA, Marietta
Joined Aug 2005
5,810 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jk6672 View Post
Where can I purchase some servo wire leads that can handle more than 5amps? The CC BEC states if you think your servos are going to draw more than 5 amps replace the leads.
Which CC BEC? Please, a link to the right one. Else all answers are speculation.

Glen
ggcrandall1 is offline Find More Posts by ggcrandall1
Old Nov 18, 2014, 07:40 PM
John
jk6672's Avatar
United States, CA, Heber
Joined Sep 2012
2,017 Posts
There is only one CC BEC, the other is CC BEC Pro
jk6672 is online now Find More Posts by jk6672
Old Nov 18, 2014, 10:28 PM
Registered User
Australia, VIC, Melbourne
Joined Feb 2010
1,797 Posts
The pins on a servo connector cant handle more than 4-5A, without excessive voltage drop, if you need more than that, use 2 to connect the BEC to the RX.
desertstalker is offline Find More Posts by desertstalker
Old Nov 18, 2014, 10:50 PM
Registered User
ggcrandall1's Avatar
USA, GA, Marietta
Joined Aug 2005
5,810 Posts
And don't forget the traces on the circuit board in the receiver. They have to carry the current for all the servos and the receiver itself.

Glen
ggcrandall1 is offline Find More Posts by ggcrandall1
Old Nov 19, 2014, 03:10 PM
Registered User
pilotpete2's Avatar
The Northeast Kingdom, Vermont
Joined Jun 2004
5,289 Posts
I just took the time to check the specs on those servos. While they are digital, they are only in the 50"oz. torque class.
Four servos of that size are not going to draw too much current for the stock wiring on the 10A CC BEC, unless you stall all four servos at the same time, not something you ever want to happen.
Your setup should never come come anywhere near drawing 5A under normal flying conditions.
Pete
pilotpete2 is online now Find More Posts by pilotpete2
Old Nov 19, 2014, 03:11 PM
John
jk6672's Avatar
United States, CA, Heber
Joined Sep 2012
2,017 Posts
thanks for the info
jk6672 is online now Find More Posts by jk6672
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sold Eagletree Vector wire lead version Chad2323 Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 0 Oct 13, 2014 06:33 AM
Found Eagletree Vector Wire leads Chad2323 FPV Equipment (FS/W) 0 Sep 22, 2014 02:42 PM
Sold OSD Pro Pkg with 150A eLogger/Wire Leads and GPS pilot006 FPV Equipment (FS/W) 0 Dec 03, 2013 01:57 PM
Discussion lead screw confusion (extra wires) delcut03 DIY Electronics 4 Nov 13, 2013 01:31 AM
For Sale control line....Perfect 1/2A lead out wire 60# 5' each & 1 control horn or lead out lla Aircraft - General - Miscellaneous (FS/W) 2 Dec 11, 2010 10:57 AM