HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jun 28, 2013, 11:53 PM
turbonut's Avatar
upland CA
Joined Dec 2004
7,253 Posts
Discussion
Gecko ESC

Hello all,
A good friend of mine is now working for Ztw and has sent a few of their new Gecko line of esc.They are asking for a few ideas to make some of the best esc for edf. So I will test these out a bit and see how they do.I will send a few ideas of what I think will make for a cool esc.I hope to get to full testing in a few weeks after my regular work load lets up a bit. But I wll start on Sunday with the 65 amp then move up..they havent sent the HV version yet which I am really excited to test..this group is all 2 to 6 cell..I prefer to run higher cell counts on 90 and up but I will give them a try untill the HV arrive. I have posted pics of them with other brands for a size comparison.Price look like they will be inline with HK Dulux brand..if you have any question ask away and I will get answers from Ztw..
turbonut is offline Find More Posts by turbonut
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 29, 2013, 01:04 AM
Registered User
avijiang's Avatar
Joined Mar 2011
34 Posts
It is really good looking, look forward to your test report. I checked their website it say this line is equiped with data logging system. What kind of parameter can logged? Is it real time logging?
avijiang is offline Find More Posts by avijiang
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2013, 01:42 AM
turbonut's Avatar
upland CA
Joined Dec 2004
7,253 Posts
For now they just have peak logging but will offer full real time logging!
Here is a link to the web site!
http://en.ztwoem.com/products_more/&...870025888.html
turbonut is offline Find More Posts by turbonut
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2013, 07:50 AM
Aka: Tom Jenkins
ApexAero's Avatar
Palm Beach County, Fl.
Joined Aug 2008
4,413 Posts
Off the top, EDF esc may need longer wire, easier to cut off rather than ad more.. and of course micro size it!
ApexAero is online now Find More Posts by ApexAero
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2013, 12:15 PM
turbonut's Avatar
upland CA
Joined Dec 2004
7,253 Posts
your read my mind....
turbonut is offline Find More Posts by turbonut
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2013, 04:03 PM
Registered User
Joined Apr 2004
799 Posts
Since I am using bullet connectors now, can they make it reverse polarity protected??

I toasted 2.. That's 2 too many. Brand new by the way.

Steve
SCALECRAFT is offline Find More Posts by SCALECRAFT
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2013, 03:04 PM
Registered User
United States, CA, Mission Viejo
Joined Jan 2005
2,233 Posts
Steve Bullet Connectors

Cant you put the male and female on the positive and negative so you cant plug them in wrong?????????????
Air Head is online now Find More Posts by Air Head
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2013, 07:52 PM
Registered User
Joined Apr 2004
799 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Air Head View Post
Cant you put the male and female on the positive and negative so you cant plug them in wrong?????????????
Yes, I can.

Steve
SCALECRAFT is offline Find More Posts by SCALECRAFT
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2013, 08:08 PM
Registered User
United States, CA, Mission Viejo
Joined Jan 2005
2,233 Posts
How did you burn

up two new controllers then? I don't get it?

Red Red

Black Black

It cant be more simple unless you cant see the colors................
Air Head is online now Find More Posts by Air Head
Last edited by Air Head; Jun 30, 2013 at 08:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2013, 09:53 PM
turbonut's Avatar
upland CA
Joined Dec 2004
7,253 Posts
When you are plugging in 2,3,4 or more batts into a high cell count system its not always red red black black...and if you loose track of where all the wires go its a easy mistake to make...you just cant be in a hurry
turbonut is offline Find More Posts by turbonut
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2013, 09:58 PM
Registered User
Joined Apr 2004
799 Posts
I can see the colors. But must have been distracted and made a cross connection, either through the plastic part of the connector or the brass part soldered to the wrong brass connector.

Hard to explain, but it happened. After the second time, I really concentrate.

Steve
SCALECRAFT is offline Find More Posts by SCALECRAFT
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2013, 09:59 PM
Registered User
Joined Apr 2004
799 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by turbonut View Post
When you are plugging in 2,3,4 or more batts into a high cell count system its not always red red black black...and if you loose track of where all the wires go its a easy mistake to make...you just cant be in a hurry
and like Scott said.

Steve
SCALECRAFT is offline Find More Posts by SCALECRAFT
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2013, 10:59 PM
Registered User
United States, CA, Mission Viejo
Joined Jan 2005
2,233 Posts
Ok

- being an electrical contractor with over 30 years of connecting wires i'm spending lot of time trying to figure out a system so I cant make a mistake.

For myself I need it idiot proof.
Air Head is online now Find More Posts by Air Head
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 01, 2013, 08:02 AM
Why kamikaze pilot wear helmet
mikes68charger's Avatar
United States, OH, Columbus
Joined Jul 2010
1,086 Posts
Cool, I if they really want an esc that will take off they need a 140amp HV esc that dose 14s

With YEP being one of the few that dose 14s, at a resonable cost, but most 14s set ups are pulling around 130amps on 120amp ESC. SO it would be nice to have some head room.

Even most of the big 127mm EDF that run 12s are pulling close to 140amp, thus the only chose is a huge Castel 160amp killer that dose not do 14s so there is no room to grow, or change motors!

I really like how my $90 YEP's have a built in spark set up, were I don't have to do anything.

Mike
mikes68charger is offline Find More Posts by mikes68charger
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2013, 06:52 PM
Registered User
kahloq's Avatar
Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Joined Dec 2005
7,821 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikes68charger View Post

Even most of the big 127mm EDF that run 12s are pulling close to 140amp, thus the only chose is a huge Castel 160amp killer that dose not do 14s so there is no room to grow, or change motors!

I really like how my $90 YEP's have a built in spark set up, were I don't have to do anything.

Mike
ZTW has a 150 amp HV 12s at half the cost of the castle 160 at $119

But I agree....a 14s would be nice without paying the huge money sums Hacker wants.

Hobbyking does have the turnigy FATBOY version 2 300amp that goes to 15s($259), same price as what castle wants for the 160 12s
HK also has the YEP 180 hv 14s, but its got poor reviews(one of the few YEP esc's that is not good)
Ive got a couple HK 160 dlux 12s, but not sure Id run it at 12s as it seems kinda small(have run it at 10s tho)
HK additionally offers the dlux 250amp HV 14s for $199

It just depends on what application its going in on what you choose.
kahloq is offline Find More Posts by kahloq
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product NEW Gecko Series ESCs from ZTW available soon! Garret H Power Systems 14 Jun 09, 2014 06:58 PM
Yippee! NEW MHZ Gecko Offshore Mini Mono Epoxy-glass hull + hardware Turbosun Boats (FS/W) 3 May 13, 2003 05:42 PM
New Micro Offshore Mhz Gecko Turbosun Boats (FS/W) 1 Mar 21, 2003 07:10 AM
MonoKote SmartCut + Gecko + S400 motors chrisc Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 2 Dec 22, 2002 09:55 PM
Gecko chrisc Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 1 Apr 21, 2002 04:23 PM