HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Mar 28, 2011, 11:30 AM
beginner scratch builder
tayarati's Avatar
Canada
Joined Aug 2010
320 Posts
Question
How to power the receiver of my FPV (900Mhz)

Hi,
I am waiting for my FPV system (cheap one from hobbyking).

I have not too much expectations but this is a try to see how it works when using my DX6i.

Here is my question: how to power the receiver (ground station)?
All stuff run at 12V.

(As monitor, I am using an USB adaptor to my laptop.)
tayarati is offline Find More Posts by tayarati
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 28, 2011, 11:41 AM
CEL abuser
USA, CO, Denver
Joined Dec 2010
392 Posts
3S lipo. Make a barrel to deans connector (or whatever your batteries use). Get fancier from there.

I'm using a 3S 5000 mAh battery to two receivers, eagle eyes and my goggles. Soon to add a recorder. No problem, can fly all day like that if I could.
pr0ject42 is offline Find More Posts by pr0ject42
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2011, 11:58 AM
beginner scratch builder
tayarati's Avatar
Canada
Joined Aug 2010
320 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by pr0ject42 View Post
3S lipo. Make a barrel to deans connector (or whatever your batteries use). Get fancier from there.

I'm using a 3S 5000 mAh battery to two receivers, eagle eyes and my goggles. Soon to add a recorder. No problem, can fly all day like that if I could.
Thanks!
I will use a 1500mah 3S lipo (or may be 2200).
Another lipo for the plane, and another one for the FPV Tx and caméra!

3 lipos!!

Can't wait to try it.

I will build some barrel to dean connector. (or may be I have it in my Venom kit, I will check barrel size)
tayarati is offline Find More Posts by tayarati
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2011, 02:28 PM
CEL abuser
USA, CO, Denver
Joined Dec 2010
392 Posts
I ordered a mess of them from readymade rc. The ones they sell fit my RXes and my eagleeyes. I think you can also score them from radio shack or the like but I liked the pre-terminated ones because I'm lazy like that.

And yeah I'm running three different lipos too. You could wire the camera TX into your main battery but for the drawbacks of noise and when you lose voltage you lose your signal I just wasn't digging it.
pr0ject42 is offline Find More Posts by pr0ject42
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2011, 02:45 PM
beginner scratch builder
tayarati's Avatar
Canada
Joined Aug 2010
320 Posts
Radio Shack or we have some other store in Canada that sells all possible resistors, connectors and wires :-)

Of course, for FPV, I prefer protecting my control signal, it's the core.
I am new in the hobby, and I only tried scrach build (hard way to learn).

I think FPV will be another hard step to go, in solo :-) (I have only RCGROUPS and people like you! I try to help in return, see my last building log)

Just saying, I used a customized plan of Mikey's RC FPV, quiet good and strong.
tayarati is offline Find More Posts by tayarati
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2011, 03:13 PM
I tell her RC is cheap !
carguy1994ca's Avatar
Quebec, Canada
Joined Sep 2006
12,317 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by pr0ject42 View Post
3S lipo. Make a barrel to deans connector (or whatever your batteries use). Get fancier from there.

I'm using a 3S 5000 mAh battery to two receivers, eagle eyes and my goggles. Soon to add a recorder. No problem, can fly all day like that if I could.
I am looking for the eagle eye ground station for diversity and the 4 video outputs. If I get it right, I simply power the eagle ye GS, both receivers and plug them in the agle eye in video in 1 and 2 and thats it ?
carguy1994ca is offline Find More Posts by carguy1994ca
RCG Plus Member
Old Mar 28, 2011, 03:15 PM
I tell her RC is cheap !
carguy1994ca's Avatar
Quebec, Canada
Joined Sep 2006
12,317 Posts
tayarati, where are you from in Canada ? Seeing the accent you used in "caméra", I'd guess you're from Québec ?
carguy1994ca is offline Find More Posts by carguy1994ca
RCG Plus Member
Old Mar 28, 2011, 03:26 PM
beginner scratch builder
tayarati's Avatar
Canada
Joined Aug 2010
320 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by carguy1994ca View Post
tayarati, where are you from in Canada ? Seeing the accent you used in "caméra", I'd guess you're from Québec ?
Hahaha! nice one !
Yes sir, from Quebec

(de Québec)
tayarati is offline Find More Posts by tayarati
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2011, 03:35 PM
I tell her RC is cheap !
carguy1994ca's Avatar
Quebec, Canada
Joined Sep 2006
12,317 Posts
Super ! Dans quel coin tu reste ? Moi je suis en beauce, club phoenix ! J'ai commencé à voler FPV cet hiver. Déjà perdu un avion mais c'est capotant.
carguy1994ca is offline Find More Posts by carguy1994ca
RCG Plus Member
Old Mar 28, 2011, 03:37 PM
beginner scratch builder
tayarati's Avatar
Canada
Joined Aug 2010
320 Posts
Je suis à Québec.
J'ai commencé septembre dernier, ça me fait 7 mois dans le hobby.
J'ai appris seul sans instructeur, juste sur ce forum (et youtube).
Je n'est pas de club, mais j'ai un collègue au boulot qui est dans un club et il me courtise :-)

Que du scratch build :-)
Je veux commencer le FPV, c'est sûr que c'est capotant!

T'as perdu ton avion? crash ou parti dans les limbes ?
tayarati is offline Find More Posts by tayarati
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2011, 03:43 PM
I tell her RC is cheap !
carguy1994ca's Avatar
Quebec, Canada
Joined Sep 2006
12,317 Posts
Parti dans les limbes, perdu le lien vieo, jamais retrouvé Je me suis racheté une camera et un émetteur, je suis à monter un Stryker (maniable) et je l'ai utilisé sur un planeur Spectra 6 pieds. Tu peux voir des video sur mon blogue, clique sur mon nom d'utilisateur ici tu verras. Bonne chance ds le FPv, pour conseils n'hésite pas !
carguy1994ca is offline Find More Posts by carguy1994ca
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by carguy1994ca; Mar 28, 2011 at 04:52 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2011, 03:47 PM
beginner scratch builder
tayarati's Avatar
Canada
Joined Aug 2010
320 Posts
Hâte de voir ça à la maison.
Je file du boulot, pour commencer l'autre vie :-)))

C'est gentil à toi Guy.

Bye
tayarati is offline Find More Posts by tayarati
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2011, 04:52 PM
I tell her RC is cheap !
carguy1994ca's Avatar
Quebec, Canada
Joined Sep 2006
12,317 Posts
LOL ! Pas Guy, mais André
carguy1994ca is offline Find More Posts by carguy1994ca
RCG Plus Member
Old Apr 01, 2011, 03:17 PM
FPV nut
traderdmb's Avatar
Sorrento, FL
Joined Nov 2010
703 Posts
Here is my setup. I just finished it today. It is pretty simple. I bought some barrel adapters and soldered deans. Positive center. I power both rcvrs on one 3300 3s lipo and I run the diversity and my goggles on another 3300 3s. This should get me plenty of time without the added stress of wrrrying about running out of juice. Anyhow, I hope this helps.

A friend of mine puts all of his diversity in a box and kinda runs everything from there.Name: IMG_1467.jpg
Views: 107
Size: 55.5 KB
Description: The whole setup

Name: IMG_1468.jpg
Views: 81
Size: 49.0 KB
Description: The patch antenna from RMRC screws right into your tripod

Name: IMG_1469.jpg
Views: 84
Size: 47.6 KB
Description: I attached the rcvr with some good 3m velcro

Name: IMG_1470.jpg
Views: 118
Size: 83.9 KB
Description: Diversity is also attached with 3m Velcro

Name: IMG_1471.jpg
Views: 90
Size: 101.3 KB
Description: the batteries are also attached with velro (perhaps I have a problem with commitment).

Name: IMG_1472.jpg
Views: 76
Size: 54.3 KB
Description: More Velcro, I like to use big batteries so I can fly as long as I want.

Name: IMG_1473.jpg
Views: 67
Size: 63.7 KB
Description:

Name: IMG_1474.jpg
Views: 64
Size: 42.1 KB
Description: Patch#2 also screwed right into the tri-pod.

Name: IMG_1475.jpg
Views: 78
Size: 64.6 KB
Description: Rcvr #2 with some more velcro.

FatShark goggles come with an attachment that will power your diversity. You will need to buy 2 barrel adapters and solder them to one deans with about 4-6 feet of wire between each. This should get you off and running. We have an electronics surplus store here in Orlando, that is where I got the adapters. Radio shack may have them but it will cost you.
traderdmb is offline Find More Posts by traderdmb
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 01, 2011, 03:20 PM
FPV nut
traderdmb's Avatar
Sorrento, FL
Joined Nov 2010
703 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by tayarati View Post
Hi,
I am waiting for my FPV system (cheap one from hobbyking).

I have not too much expectations but this is a try to see how it works when using my DX6i.

Here is my question: how to power the receiver (ground station)?
All stuff run at 12V.

(As monitor, I am using an USB adaptor to my laptop.)
You may experience some delay by using a laptop.
traderdmb is offline Find More Posts by traderdmb
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Found found beladog Aircraft - General - Miscellaneous (FS/W) 1 Oct 12, 2010 03:08 AM
For Sale 900mhz Dual Output Receiver for FPV avropilot Aircraft - General - Miscellaneous (FS/W) 1 Oct 02, 2010 10:41 PM
For Sale 900Mhz dual output receiver for FPV MinneFlyer Aircraft - General - Miscellaneous (FS/W) 0 May 18, 2010 01:50 PM
Sold FPV 900MHz A/V Receiver, Deluxe Dual Output w/antenna (((SOLD))) bah7566 Aircraft - General - Miscellaneous (FS/W) 4 Apr 12, 2010 08:53 PM
For Sale FPV - 900mhz dual output video receiver for FPV - $65 shipped MinneFlyer Aircraft - General - Miscellaneous (FS/W) 5 Mar 11, 2010 08:29 PM