HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 24, 2014, 01:50 PM
Registered User
dk31's Avatar
Athens
Joined Oct 2009
754 Posts
RSSI connection to eagle-tree osd pro

Hi all,
I am about to install a new receiver to a new plane, and wondered if I need anything between the rssi output of rangeling receiver and the eagle-tree osd.

-the e-t manual recommends a noise filter (a small toroid with 10-15 turns)
-so far I have been flying with a capacitor and a resistor (rc filter?). I just forgot to remove it when i changed from 2.4GHz to rangeling, but it didn't harm anything. I can't seem to find the thread i followed to build the filter.
-I also have all components to make one of these:
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...2&postcount=26

I would prefer to keep it simple and just connect them with a single wire. Any advice on this?
dk31 is online now Find More Posts by dk31
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2014, 01:51 PM
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
Lakewood, Colorado
Joined Aug 2002
28,670 Posts
The RC filter was detailed earlier in this thread.
That should be sufficient for use with ET Pro as well.
Daemon is offline Find More Posts by Daemon
RCG Plus Member
Old Sep 24, 2014, 02:49 PM
Registered User
dk31's Avatar
Athens
Joined Oct 2009
754 Posts
Thanks for the reply.
Searching this thread for "rc filter" and reading these posts(you and sid):
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...postcount=4119
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...postcount=1260

, I understand that latest versions of RL don't need an "external" RC filter as they have a built in filter. I got mine in Feb 2014, so I guess I am ok to go on without any filter.

I need to know because I am doing all the wiring before gluing the fuselage halves, and it will be really hard to change later.
dk31 is online now Find More Posts by dk31
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2014, 05:50 PM
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
Lakewood, Colorado
Joined Aug 2002
28,670 Posts
And you don't intend to test any of your wiring before gluing it together?
If in doubt, leave the RC filter in place. It can't hurt. Otherwise test it.
Daemon is offline Find More Posts by Daemon
RCG Plus Member
Old Sep 24, 2014, 11:06 PM
Registered User
dk31's Avatar
Athens
Joined Oct 2009
754 Posts
Of course, I test if everything works on the bench, but I won't do any range test before gluing everything together.
Anyway, I will make a new rc filter for peace of mind. Thanks.
dk31 is online now Find More Posts by dk31
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2014, 03:19 PM
Registered User
Ukraine, Poltavs'ka oblast, Khorol
Joined Sep 2014
3 Posts
Hello. Sorry for my English.
There was such a problem. Use Chainlink 2011 release. Greatly reduce the range. When power 200mW on a straight section is only 1km. I found that the receiver is faulty. Please help to identify the defective part in the RF module. I bought a new module TRW-400B. I installed it. But in general the receiver stopped working. There is no connection between the receiver and the transmitter. I tried to make a Binding. But the receiver is not earned. I drew attention to the fact that the new module is missing a few elements. Photos on the left side is the old module, where all the elements. On the right side there is a new unit, wherein the absence of several components. Maybe it is not critical? What do you think? What will advise? Thank you.
To complement the experiments give the video transmitter and receiver modules.

DSCN3936 (4 min 2 sec)




DSCN3932 (4 min 46 sec)
Vadim Makhno is offline Find More Posts by Vadim Makhno
Last edited by Vadim Makhno; Sep 26, 2014 at 03:52 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2014, 10:56 PM
Registered User
United States, CO, Boulder
Joined Jul 2012
77 Posts
When using rssi and ppm both going to the apm fc, is only the rssi signal, as welll at the 3 ppm wires, or should I also add the rssi ground. I'm trying to avoid a ground loop.
Rfriedman is online now Find More Posts by Rfriedman
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2014, 06:17 PM
Registered User
United States, MI, Detroit
Joined Apr 2014
7 Posts
Hi everyone,

I'm having a problem getting the rangelink to bind. I hold the mode button on the rangelink tx, then i turn on the turnigy 9x, wait for the second beep and I see the rangelink tx slowly flashing a red light. Then I turn on the rangelink receiver. The blinking light on the Rangelink tx does not change and continues to blink. What could cause this?

When I don't attempt to bind and just turn the 9x radio on the rangelink tx light is blinking rapidly which i believe indicates the ppm signal from turnigy 9x is working? I am using a Turnigy 9x transmitter with er9x firmware. I am new to most of this so perhaps its the er9x settings. I've got ppm 12ch 300us selected and 22.5 msec. Not sure what other settings need to be enabled.

The rangelink receiver doesn't have any servos plugged in. It is being powered by a Turnigy 5v UBEC. Rangelink receiver has a red led indicating that it is powered.

If anyone has any advice I would appreciate it!
renegade85 is offline Find More Posts by renegade85
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2014, 08:43 PM
Registered User
United States, AL, Mt Olive
Joined May 2010
28 Posts
I think you only wait for the first beep. And if I remember correctly, the rx has no power indicator. The red light means it's receiving a signal.
KaudiTT is offline Find More Posts by KaudiTT
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2014, 09:12 PM
Registered User
United States, MI, Detroit
Joined Apr 2014
7 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by KaudiTT View Post
I think you only wait for the first beep. And if I remember correctly, the rx has no power indicator. The red light means it's receiving a signal.
Thanks that was the problem. It's all working now!
renegade85 is offline Find More Posts by renegade85
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2014, 03:05 PM
Flying to help
Joined Apr 2013
61 Posts
Searching for a Good UHF LRS

HI,

I am searching for a good UHF LRS for my plane, I have to go at 40Km as flight distance. I have a Futaba 14SG.

I would like to know what is the average flight distance you were able to go with the RangeLink and how was the quality? and was there any RF interference somewhere?

Your answers are important for my decisions.
CaptainElios is online now Find More Posts by CaptainElios
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Yippee! DRAGON LINK - Professional Grade, Rock Solid, Hassle Free, UHF system. JettPilot FPV Equipment 33832 Today 02:22 PM
New Product ChainLink UHF Long Range System siim227 FPV Talk 2853 Jul 01, 2013 04:23 PM
New Product ChainLink--The new UHF narrow band long range system BEVRC FPV Talk 878 Jun 08, 2013 06:53 PM
New Product UHF Long range JR / Futaba module Hooks FPV Talk 18 Aug 13, 2012 05:46 AM
Sold [VDS]LRS thomas scherrer UHF + 2 receivers long range LTS49 FPV Equipment (FS/W) 8 Jul 22, 2011 03:55 PM