SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Jun 23, 2014, 01:51 PM
Joined Oct 2011
4 Posts
Help!
Hi-start questions

I am new to sailplanes and in need of an education......
What action is required to disconnect from the hi-start?
What purpose does a parachute serve? It would seem to add extra drag on launch, even though it doesn't deploy until separation from sailplane?
Thanks in advance!
Paul
flybig2011 is offline Find More Posts by flybig2011
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 23, 2014, 02:08 PM
Greenville, SC
Joined Jul 2007
77 Posts
Most sailplanes use a tow hook arrangement that allows the plane to simply fly off the ring at the top of the launch. Experienced pilots can "zoom" the plane downward and achieve an extra boost of altitude that also flings the plane off the ring. Available, but not widely used in hi-start applications, are tow hooks that are releasable via servo action (and a switch channel on your transmitter). These insure that the hook clears the ring but can be troublesome. I've seen more release problems with them than with a fixed hook.

The parachute is used to help bring the hi-start line back down from a launch in more-or-less the same line as it went up, assuming that you have launched into the wind correctly. It has no function prior to the release of the plane and has little to no effect on the launch phase. Essentially, it keeps the falling line in the same general area and saves steps when you go to retrieve and re-stretch.

My advice is that you find someone locally who is experienced to help you work through the first few steps of launching and thermal techniques.
mocgp is online now Find More Posts by mocgp
Old Jun 23, 2014, 03:18 PM
So many projects...
United States, IN, West Lafayette
Joined Oct 2009
129 Posts
OR...