SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 28, 2015, 05:17 AM
Registered User
yorkshire UK
Joined Oct 2007
5,276 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmackenzie View Post
Ah, so the clicking is a design feature, not a product design flaw

Sort of like the reassuring sounds of a needle hitting the vinyl and catching a groove, then the slight bit of static before the music starts.

There is also a click when you turn on/off that goes away with the no click mod.

I sort of missed the clicking a bit as well for the reason you state, but I think the whole thing seems a lot more "professiona" without it.

I guess if I really missed it I could probably program a special function to click when the pot was moved. Perhaps even make it sound even more like a dirty pot is the source.

Pat MacKenzie


Or as you turn the volume up it could say "higher higher"
Volume down "LOWER LOWER"
nigelsheffield is online now Find More Posts by nigelsheffield
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 28, 2015, 08:47 AM
Registered User
maguro's Avatar
United States, DE, Bear
Joined Apr 2007
2,304 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by nigelsheffield View Post


Or as you turn the volume up it could say "higher higher"
Volume down "LOWER LOWER"
I can just hear Amber saying that. Gives me goose bumps.
maguro is offline Find More Posts by maguro
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2015, 10:33 AM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2014
314 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrueBuld View Post
I is interesting to see what people consider a fault or an irritation.
If the clicking was coming from an HiFi amp at 200watts I would consider that a fault and an irritation.

When I turn S1 to adjust the volume I find the click a reassurance the volume is being changed (ie that S1 is in fact connected to the volume circuit)

Just an observation
As you are saying, it's all about "experiencing". Through association I experience this clicking with a dirty pot. Just like you can't really enjoy a steak with a blunt knife.
I don't want to hear that sound.

I just added a 5V voltage regulator to supply the amplifier. Another annoyance disappeared. The backlight isn't dimming when the Taranis is speaking to me.

Be honest!
It doesn't feel good if that backlight is dimming.
frater is offline Find More Posts by frater
Last edited by frater; Feb 28, 2015 at 10:52 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2015, 10:37 AM
Registered User
yorkshire UK
Joined Oct 2007
5,276 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by frater View Post
As you are saying, it's all about "experiencing". Through association I experience this clicking with a dirty pot. Just like you can't really enjoy a steak with a blunt knife.
I don't want to hear that sound.

I just added a 5C voltage regulator to supply the amplifier. Another annoyance disappeared. The backlight isn't dimming when the Taranis is speaking to me.

Be honest!
It doesn't feel good if that backlight is dimming.
Put a multi colour back light in call it sound to light system??
nigelsheffield is online now Find More Posts by nigelsheffield
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2015, 10:59 AM
Registered User
Son, Norway
Joined Sep 2004
3,548 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrueBuld View Post
If the clicking was coming from an HiFi amp at 200watts I would consider that a fault and an irritation.
If using a headset it sounds like just that.

Fred
flarssen is online now Find More Posts by flarssen
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2015, 11:03 AM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2014
314 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by nigelsheffield View Post
Put a multi colour back light in call it sound to light system??
I couldn't find the Amp at first and then discovered it behind the flatcable on my Taranis Plus. I went ahead with the mod, although it didn't feel that good scratching the PCB with a knife (I have old eyes...).
It all went good (AFAIK).
Here are some pictures.

And Flarssen... thanks!
frater is offline Find More Posts by frater
Last edited by frater; Feb 28, 2015 at 11:23 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2015, 04:43 PM
Registered User
Springdale, PA
Joined Mar 2008
65 Posts
[QUOTE=Tom in Cincy;30886425]yep another one

Ebay sells these guys for $2.50 shipped .
They have a 3 watt 5vdc amp in them but they also have that perforated speaker grill.
QUOTE]
Tom, the add states 3V aaa batteries are required, by Google search came up zinc type batteries. I have a 5.4 v regulator available, I image this will work?
Tony Hallo is offline Find More Posts by Tony Hallo
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2015, 05:49 PM
2Vision-Air
bakchos's Avatar
Canada, QC, Blainville
Joined Aug 2009
2,234 Posts
Just did the speaker upgrade.

nice bass on the voice now lol

also printed the ring and the fit is perfect,

speakers came in a 4 pack rom ebay.. so i have 3 left.

Taranis speaker upgrade (0 min 14 sec)
bakchos is online now Find More Posts by bakchos
RCG Plus Member
Old Feb 28, 2015, 07:09 PM
Tom Para
Tom in Cincy's Avatar
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Joined May 2003
1,237 Posts
[QUOTE=Tony Hallo;30923519]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom in Cincy View Post
yep another one

Ebay sells these guys for $2.50 shipped .
They have a 3 watt 5vdc amp in them but they also have that perforated speaker grill.
QUOTE]
Tom, the add states 3V aaa batteries are required, by Google search came up zinc type batteries. I have a 5.4 v regulator available, I image this will work?
It works fine on 2 AAA alkaline cells. 5.4 volts is ok.. For the heck of it I ordered one of these amps since it runs off 6-12 vdc and no regulator needed. I will be a while till it gets here but I'll post the results hopefully.
At this point I am happy with the original amp I installed....
http://www.ebay.com/itm/261524317601...%3AMEBIDX%3AIT
Tom in Cincy is offline Find More Posts by Tom in Cincy
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 01, 2015, 02:57 AM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2014
314 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bakchos View Post
Just did the speaker upgrade.

nice bass on the voice now lol

also printed the ring and the fit is perfect,

speakers came in a 4 pack rom ebay.. so i have 3 left.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XCanJgJgsKY
I would also give it some more breathing room. I recently added many holes as shown in my post, but you could start with 1 hole in the middle.
I guess a grill looks better.

I don't know if I should recommend the other mod I did. The amplifier is 700 mW when used on 5V. It's much less when it's operated on 3.3 Volt.

I've added an 7805 (voltage regulator) with Elko to give the amp its own 5V.
The amp now doesn't distort and it also doesn't have any effect on the backlight anymore.


I also could have done the no-click mod if I knew where the capacitor should be. For now I'm leaving it as is.
frater is offline Find More Posts by frater
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 01, 2015, 06:24 AM
Registered User
Bill Glover's Avatar
United Kingdom, Bracknell
Joined Nov 2000
12,386 Posts
Yup I finally got around to doing the speaker mod. on my rev. B Taranis recently.

Wasn't 100% sure about it to start with as it's a big change from the stock speaker ... there's a lot of bass and little treble now. But on balance it is an improvement.

I'm also looking at a grille of some sort if I can source something that looks good enough
Bill Glover is offline Find More Posts by Bill Glover
Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 06:02 AM
Registered User
Springdale, PA
Joined Mar 2008
65 Posts
I'm looking forward to installing the large grill and amp. I think I have about wore out the threads in the case. My next hack may be a zipper and hinges. This radio is a sub hobby of flying. Kind a like it.
Tony Hallo is offline Find More Posts by Tony Hallo
Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 07:59 AM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2014
314 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony Hallo View Post
I'm looking forward to installing the large grill and amp. I think I have about wore out the threads in the case. My next hack may be a zipper and hinges. This radio is a sub hobby of flying. Kind a like it.
Are you going to install another amp?
I think the mod suggested by Flarssen, which I also did, works ok. It's giving the onboard amp its own power source. You would need another power source for a stronger amp anyhow.
frater is offline Find More Posts by frater
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product FrSky Taranis - 16 Channels, Full Telemetry, RSSI Rotozuk Radios 40671 Today 02:54 AM
Question FrSky Taranis - assimilating web info mcshaz Radios 4 Nov 30, 2014 08:01 PM
Discussion is the FrSky Taranis next step after Turnigy 9X 9Ch tormodnt Radios 3 Nov 30, 2014 07:58 PM
Wanted FrSky Hack module, Flydream Hack or JR module Fentonflyers Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 5 May 28, 2014 01:33 AM