New Products Flash Sale
Old Jul 01, 2015, 08:54 AM
Find More Posts by Majortomski
dusty bible = dirty life
Oklahoma City OK USA Where fakts still exist even if they are ignored
Joined Aug 2000
2,831 Posts
Discussion
Are scale modelers different? Why do we pay attention to detail?

I have been building plastic and flying scale models since 1959. I have very little trouble identifying a particular airplane, its era or its country of origin.

I was looking at the National Museum of the United States Air Force's Face Book page and they have a weekly identification challenge.

https://www.facebook.com/AFmuseum/ph..._t=photo_reply

Why do people have a hard time even getting close to what the aircraft actually is?

Or worse yet once you PROOVE what it is why do they continue to give wrong answers?
Majortomski is online now Find More Posts by Majortomski
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 01, 2015, 01:28 PM
Find More Posts by packardpursuit
Joined Jan 2009
1,757 Posts
1. Because much of history, and aviation history in particular, is often more about popular myth and mercenary agendas, rather than a reasonable discussion leading to a greater understanding of factual historical incidences.

2. People, even modelers, tend to crave and thrive on negativity. Note some of the early responses/attacks to observations about certain William Wylam drawings, over on the "Scale drawings and 3-view forum", here on RC Groups!!!

3. While a model is the personal manifestation of an individual modeler's vision, and we can celebrate the achievement, a scale model, by its very nature goes beyond a sport model. It fairly begs to judged for it's IMPLIED accuracy. If not in formal competition, but more among modelers interested in scale.

I've worked in custom cars, custom homes and ful scale aircraft restoration. The motivations and excuses are exactly the same as we see in modeldom.
packardpursuit is online now Find More Posts by packardpursuit
Old Jul 01, 2015, 02:25 PM