HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Today, 12:59 AM
Registered User
Nederland, NB, Waalwijk
Joined Sep 2006
213 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by cquian View Post
So I think this means the X4R can not be used natively with the Naze32 Acro? Which would be a real shame since the Naze32 kind of rules in the mini quad/hex FPV world.
Naze32 can handle SBus. Not sure if you need a signal inverter for FrSky receivers.
MrBlobby is online now Find More Posts by MrBlobby
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Today, 01:11 AM
Registered User
USA, TX, The Colony
Joined Dec 2005
709 Posts
Didn't think the Naze32 handles SBUS directly without a converter? Specs only mention PWM or PPM
cquian is offline Find More Posts by cquian
Reply With Quote
Old Today, 01:20 AM
Happy FPV flyer
Kilrah's Avatar
Switzerland
Joined Sep 2006
4,259 Posts
It also supports sbus and dsm.
An inverter is needed for sbus on the current hardware version.
Kilrah is online now Find More Posts by Kilrah
Reply With Quote
Old Today, 03:05 AM
Registered User
Son, Norway
Joined Sep 2004
3,259 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tomkfly View Post
Correct, but the resistor is quite small and I wouldn't want to attempt it without the proper equipment.

Tom
According to this statement it is big. Perhaps in some sort of socket?

Quote:
Originally Posted by scott page View Post
Here is the reply I received from Eva @ FrSky:

It is much easier than you expect.
The user doesn't need to flash the firmware to make the conversion.
To be specific, if he wants to convert from X4R to X4RSB, just move the big resistor from the number on the board of 34 to 35; if he wants to convert back, just move it back to 34, and it's done.
Fred
flarssen is offline Find More Posts by flarssen
Reply With Quote
Old Today, 03:45 AM
Registered User
Isle of Man
Joined Apr 2012
730 Posts
I don't think you can call any component on this board "big"unless you are talking about unit value, but maybe that's just because my old eyes can't see the damn thing!
jhkiom is online now Find More Posts by jhkiom
Reply With Quote
Old Today, 03:54 AM
Registered User
Tomkfly's Avatar
United Kingdom, England, Birkenhead
Joined Jan 2013
1,283 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhkiom View Post
I don't think you can call any component on this board "big"unless you are talking about unit value, but maybe that's just because my old eyes can't see the damn thing!
The component is the black horizontal one near the top left of the circle in the image. It is , at most, 2.5 x 1.5mm. Which may be big to the engineers at Fr'Sky, but is minute to me.

It is a zero ohm resistor soldered to the board, you would need specialist equipment to move it.

Tom
Tomkfly is online now Find More Posts by Tomkfly
Last edited by Tomkfly; Today at 04:50 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Today, 04:11 AM
Registered User
Australia, QLD, Brisbane
Joined Nov 2010
302 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tomkfly View Post
The component is the bleach horizontal one near the top left of the circle in the image. It is , at most, 2.5 x 1.5mm. Which may be big to the engineers at Fr'Sky, but is minute to me.

It is a zero ohm resistor soldered to the board, you would need specialist equipment to move it.

Tom
Look again. The resistor is not in that picture. Only the place to put it.
lexm is online now Find More Posts by lexm
Reply With Quote
Old Today, 04:21 AM
Registered User
Son, Norway
Joined Sep 2004
3,259 Posts
Yes, the other spot is probably labelled R35. Perhaps on the other side of the board?
Easier than expected? A micro switch would be, and then there would only be one version to produce, stock etc.
flarssen is offline Find More Posts by flarssen
Reply With Quote
Old Today, 04:40 AM
Currently in Nairobi, Kenya
Willie's Avatar
Netherland
Joined Mar 2003
248 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhkiom View Post
I don't think you can call any component on this board "big"unless you are talking about unit value, but maybe that's just because my old eyes can't see the damn thing!
A jumper would be much easier.
Willie is online now Find More Posts by Willie
Reply With Quote
Old Today, 04:53 AM
Registered User
Tomkfly's Avatar
United Kingdom, England, Birkenhead
Joined Jan 2013
1,283 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by lexm View Post
Look again. The resistor is not in that picture. Only the place to put it.
Sorry my bad. I have one and have posted pics on other threads, so I didn't look too close. The resistor is actually in virtually the same position on the other side of the board.

Tom
Tomkfly is online now Find More Posts by Tomkfly
Reply With Quote
Old Today, 04:59 AM
Registered User
Tomkfly's Avatar
United Kingdom, England, Birkenhead
Joined Jan 2013
1,283 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Willie View Post
A jumper would be much easier.
I guess Fr'Sky, don't understand the nature of us hobbyists and thought we would buy the one we wanted and wouldn't want to be changing them over.

Tom
Tomkfly is online now Find More Posts by Tomkfly
Reply With Quote
Old Today, 05:15 AM
Currently in Nairobi, Kenya
Willie's Avatar
Netherland
Joined Mar 2003
248 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tomkfly View Post
I guess Fr'Sky, don't understand the nature of us hobbyists and thought we would buy the one we wanted and wouldn't want to be changing them over.

Tom
I think there are more people that is capable of doing a firmware update than doing the resistor soldering trick.....
Willie is online now Find More Posts by Willie
Reply With Quote
Old Today, 05:27 AM
Registered User
Son, Norway
Joined Sep 2004
3,259 Posts
It seems to be just a way of selecting output for signal pin of output #4 (hardware wise), meaning you could just as easily make it a 4 ch PWM + SBUS by soldering in a SBUS drop cable.

Fred
flarssen is offline Find More Posts by flarssen
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion FrSky: what's your range and configration? not103 FPV Talk 606 Today 07:04 AM
Help! FrSKY Telemetry not working? Greiswig Radios 12 Jun 01, 2014 08:26 PM
Discussion Passed by Obama's grandmothers appartement today ... logan5 Life, The Universe, and Politics 33 May 09, 2014 11:34 AM
Discussion Whistler's Grandmother in Classified Ads T6Junkie Auto Gyros 2 Sep 20, 2008 02:46 PM
For Sale Giant Size Auto-Gyro " Whistler's Grandmother T6Junkie Aircraft - Fuel - Airplanes (FS/W) 0 Sep 20, 2008 11:17 AM