New Products Flash Sale
Old Apr 25, 2008, 12:33 AM
Find More Posts by john_auberry
Joined May 2006
290 Posts
Build Log
Well, I started tinkering with it and so I guess I need a build thread.

I started playing with it and now I farther along on it then my other projects. I got my Fairwind running to take to the beach but I would like to have this schooner finished. It want fit in my car but my father in law said he would take it in his motor home. Dont know where Im going to store it though?

It started at a freebie. I bought a Fairwind and got this old EC12 hull.

The decks was rotten and it looked about 20 years past its prime. I wondered what I was going to do with it. I was in the process of building a schooner so I figured Id throw it under the back porch and one day make a static model out of it. After my ballest system didnt work out on the schooner I was building the old hull started calling me. I dug it out from under the back porch and sat on the ground beside it looking at its graceful lines. I realized it would make a beautiful schooner with a little cutting and glassing. So I made a plan.

I would reshape the stern and add about a inch and a half to the gunrails.
john_auberry is offline Find More Posts by john_auberry
Last edited by john_auberry; Apr 25, 2008 at 03:13 AM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 25, 2008, 12:36 AM
Joined May 2006
290 Posts
I started by ripping out the old rotten deck and cutting the stern off. I then built a new one out of fiberglass.

I then started add the gun rails.
Old Apr 25, 2008, 12:40 AM
Joined May 2006
290 Posts
I was blowing time waiting on glue to dry and started making two anchors out of black acyclic.

Then I carved them with a dremal tool.
Old Apr 25, 2008, 12:42 AM
Joined May 2006
290 Posts
I might halve to make two more this look a little big
Old Apr 25, 2008, 12:43 AM
Joined May 2006
290 Posts
I also stared on the new rudder
Old Apr 25, 2008, 12:44 AM
Find More Posts by SloopProvidence
San Diego, CA