HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jul 26, 2002, 01:11 PM
Dude, where's My Plane?
Green Lane PA USA
Joined Mar 2001
2,167 Posts
Glassing wings,, HELP

Hey guys, I am building a pair of Blue fan fold foam jets, AUW will be somewhere between 32-38 oz. They are for MF-480 with brushless motors. I plan to glass them, the wings will be built up blue foam with CF arrorw shaft sparr.
I have little glass experience, so I dont know how strong its going to be when done, so my question is, Should I sheet and glass the wings, seems like overkill to me, or should I just glass over the foam?
Any tips for glassing the swept wings would be helpfull, do I use one piece or do it in strips? How many layers of what type of glass, ect, ect.
I will be useing WBPU, I have striped the plastic from the foam.
JasonJ is offline Find More Posts by JasonJ
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 26, 2002, 01:55 PM
silent flight
South Wales UK
Joined May 2002
1,577 Posts
I've glassed a few wings.

Depends on how much weigth your willing to allow on the covering, but I've covered wings with 2 x layers of glass fibre/exopy then a final finishing coat of epoxy and the wing is as hard as nails. I squeeze out all the excess epoxy out of the glass to keep weigth to a minimum.

Get yourself some medical type latex gloves, epoxy is a nightmare on your hands. I also find it easier to use a spreader rather than a brush to apply the epoxy.

Also thin out the epoxy with epoxy thinners makes the job much easier and your epoxy will go further too.

Hope this helps, good luck

Mike Y
Mike_Y is offline Find More Posts by Mike_Y
Old Jul 26, 2002, 02:10 PM
FoamyFactory.com
USA, TX, Fort Worth
Joined Nov 2001
4,356 Posts
Jason,

use .54 or .75 oz glass cloth. You can usualy get it at your LHS. DON'T use anything heavier, as it will add too much weight. Use just the foam and glass. No need to sheet with balsa.