SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 21, 2012, 03:42 AM
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, Naerum
Joined Feb 2011
824 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RickEis View Post
We need this to work with the Pro Mini also - You thinking it won't ?
I can't figure the pins - guess I need to study them a bit more ?

For example
GPS -> Arduino UNO

GND - > GND
5 V - > 5 V
IN - > PD1 (??)
OUT - > PD0 (??)

Rick
GPS should be the same for all boards.
TX -> RX
RX -> TX

The pin-config for MAX7456 is the same for most Arduinos, just to mention the most used boards; Arduino Uno, Arduino duemilanove and Arduino Nano (which I would pick).

Arduino mini pro uses pin 9, 10 and 11 - but it doesn't seems like SS is available. It can probably be fixed with another software-version, but I would suggest using Arduino Nano instead.
Dennis Frie is online now Find More Posts by Dennis Frie
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 21, 2012, 03:55 AM
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, Naerum
Joined Feb 2011
824 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RickEis View Post
Dennis,
Is this looking correct for the UNO ?
I have a hayday reading these arduino schematics
Probably because I never have
Rick
GPS is correct, but I would prefer if you connected the sensors like this:
(just move all 3 connections 1 place)
A0 = Battery voltage (from resistor divider)
A1 = RSSI
A2 = Current sensor

It can be changed in software, but that's what I'll be using as default.

Please be aware that the voltage you have connected from the current-sensor MUST be connected with a voltage-divider. Otherwise you will end up with a dead Arduino.

(Vin is battery-voltage, Vout goes to A0 pin on Arduino. For max 4S li-po, with good safety margin, something like R1= 10K ohm and R2 = 3.3 K ohm could be a possibility)
Dennis Frie is online now Find More Posts by Dennis Frie
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 04:19 AM
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, Naerum
Joined Feb 2011
824 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RickEis View Post
Dennis,

V2 compiles first time with both mini pro and uno and looks excellent as in the pict I posted previously
I'm assuming V2 loaded the English text with the mini pro because I had only done it manually with the Uno - so I think it worked perfectly

When I input video, it threw the text around (see Pict).
- problem maybe ntsc verses pal?

Also I hooked gps-out to rx0 uno and gps-in to tx1 uno and "still waiting"
I believe the baud rate for my gps is 38400 - change the 9600 in config.h
//#define BAUD 9600
#define BAUD 38400
not sure if that was the right place to change things ?

Tried mini pro again - tried to read Arduino Mini Pro schematic -
(hard to understand for me
UNO -> MINI PRO
cs=pb2=pin 10 -> pin 12 ?
sdin=pb3=pin 11 -> pin 11 ?
sclk=pb5=pin 13 -> pin 9 ?
sdout=pb4 =pin 12 -> pin 10 ?

Didn't work - gray screen

// General configuration
#define VideoSignalType_PAL
//#define VideoSignalType_NTSC

// Unit system
#define UnitSystem METRIC
///#define UnitSystem IMPERIAL

// gps baud rate


Rick
Yup, just define another baud-rate in the config-file
The "jumping text" is caused by wrong PAL/NTSC settings.

NTSC/PAL settings is not implemented, same goes for unit-system

If you actually plan to hook it up and do a real test - please let me know and I'll fix you a software-version with NTSC ASAP.
Dennis Frie is online now Find More Posts by Dennis Frie
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 09:20 AM
Registered User
United States, AZ, Prescott Valley
Joined Feb 2012
178 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis Frie View Post
GPS should be the same for all boards.
TX -> RX
RX -> TX

The pin-config for MAX7456 is the same for most Arduinos, just to mention the most used boards; Arduino Uno, Arduino duemilanove and Arduino Nano (which I would pick).

Arduino mini pro uses pin 9, 10 and 11 - but it doesn't seems like SS is available. It can probably be fixed with another software-version, but I would suggest using Arduino Nano instead.
How does this schematic look for the Nano?

You said, "If you actually plan to hook it up and do a real test - please let me know and I'll fix you a software-version with NTSC ASAP."

A Nano should be here Monday and I hope to have everything running with the Uno, then I can load it all onto the Nano and fly -

Any other ideas beside the baud rate that would prevent the gps from working now?

I have a couple of these http://www.digikey.com/product-searc...ds=620-1238-nd
Do you think one of these would work better then the other sensor I have been showing in the schematics? Not sure what size Cf and Rf is supposed to be?

Rick
RickEis is offline Find More Posts by RickEis
Last edited by RickEis; Nov 21, 2012 at 02:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 04:38 PM
Registered User
San Marcos, CA
Joined Aug 2009
2,843 Posts
Daniel, are you experimenting with the Max7456 yet?

Did you notice that coordinate 0/0 are out of the screen?
flyandi is offline Find More Posts by flyandi
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 12:51 PM
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, Naerum
Joined Feb 2011
824 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by flyandi View Post
Daniel, are you experimenting with the Max7456 yet?

Did you notice that coordinate 0/0 are out of the screen?
Daniel? Do you refer to me?
In that case, yes .

The hardware and software is pretty much ready for a test-flight, just need some sparetime
If you look at the last couple of posts you'll notice, that I have done a little more than a quick test.
Dennis Frie is online now Find More Posts by Dennis Frie
Last edited by Dennis Frie; Nov 22, 2012 at 12:57 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 12:56 PM
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, Naerum
Joined Feb 2011
824 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RickEis View Post
How does this schematic look for the Nano?

You said, "If you actually plan to hook it up and do a real test - please let me know and I'll fix you a software-version with NTSC ASAP."

A Nano should be here Monday and I hope to have everything running with the Uno, then I can load it all onto the Nano and fly -

Any other ideas beside the baud rate that would prevent the gps from working now?

I have a couple of these http://www.digikey.com/product-searc...ds=620-1238-nd
Do you think one of these would work better then the other sensor I have been showing in the schematics? Not sure what size Cf and Rf is supposed to be?

Rick
Sorry, been busy the last couple of days...

The schematic you have drawn for Arduino Nano should be right
Nano uses same pins as Uno, duem etc:
D13 = SCK
D12 = MISO
D11 = MOSI
D10 = SS

The voltage-divider is also connected right

You can connect the voltage from urrent-sensor to Vin (called Raw sometimes) if you want to use the onboard regulator.

The current-sensor from Allegro is pretty bad at driving capacitive load, so you will need a large capacitor and pretty small capacitor. Can't remember the values, but did a quick calculation and showed a simulation a while ago.
Dennis Frie is online now Find More Posts by Dennis Frie
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 02:38 PM
Registered User
United States, AZ, Prescott Valley
Joined Feb 2012
178 Posts
ACS756 verses Sparkfuns AttoPilot 90A
RickEis is offline Find More Posts by RickEis
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 03:40 PM
Build to Fly? FLY to BUILD!
Legot's Avatar
United States, AZ, Gilbert
Joined Nov 2009
1,104 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RickEis View Post
ACS756 verses Sparkfuns AttoPilot 90A
Looks good. If you can get both, I'd love to see the performance differences.
Legot is offline Find More Posts by Legot
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 03:45 PM
throw new IOPilotException();
IceWind's Avatar
Ireland, County Dublin, Dublin
Joined Feb 2005
2,650 Posts
Interesting, I actually have the AttoPilot 90A. I've started to add some code to the Multiwii to use it but haven't finished. I found it actually to work quite well.
IceWind is offline Find More Posts by IceWind
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 04:56 PM
Registered User
United States, AZ, Prescott Valley
Joined Feb 2012
178 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Legot View Post
Looks good. If you can get both, I'd love to see the performance differences.
Legot,

I have both and just soldered the ACS756 as you see in the pict. I need to solder the capacitors ect after I figure which size CF and RF as in the schematic (see report 2164 above)?

The specs say, "CF is for optimal noise management, with values that depend on the application". So what does that mean ?

Not sure if it would wire up the same nor if the code would work as is.

And I'm not sure how we would compare ?

Rick
RickEis is offline Find More Posts by RickEis
Last edited by RickEis; Nov 22, 2012 at 05:27 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 07:20 PM
Registered User
United States, AZ, Prescott Valley
Joined Feb 2012
178 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis Frie View Post
Sorry, been busy the last couple of days...

The schematic you have drawn for Arduino Nano should be right
Nano uses same pins as Uno, duem etc:
D13 = SCK
D12 = MISO
D11 = MOSI
D10 = SS

The voltage-divider is also connected right

You can connect the voltage from urrent-sensor to Vin (called Raw sometimes) if you want to use the onboard regulator.

The current-sensor from Allegro is pretty bad at driving capacitive load, so you will need a large capacitor and pretty small capacitor. Can't remember the values, but did a quick calculation and showed a simulation a while ago.
Dennis,
You said, "You can connect the voltage from urrent-sensor to Vin (called Raw sometimes) if you want to use the onboard regulator."
Are you suggesting powering the Arduino's with a 3 or 4 cell ~ 11 + Volts? I guess I have been concerned about frying the little guys. And I heard switching BEC's are more efficient (for the larger V drops) then the linear voltage regulators (used by the Arduino's). So,,,,I have been using switching 5 ~ 5.5 V BEC regulators to power Arduino's. I got concerned and looked into when I saw folks frying their $200 APM2 boards Maybe my concern is not valid ?
Don't linear voltage regulators get hot going from 11 + down to 5 ?
Rick
RickEis is offline Find More Posts by RickEis
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 10:06 PM
Build to Fly? FLY to BUILD!
Legot's Avatar
United States, AZ, Gilbert
Joined Nov 2009
1,104 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RickEis View Post
Legot,
The specs say, "CF is for optimal noise management, with values that depend on the application". So what does that mean ?
Rick
CF is basically a smoothing capacitor. Its placement between VOUT and GND allows it to fill in dips in the analog signal (which is a voltage) that comes from VOUT so that the readout can be more reliable and accurate.

In the Performance Characteristics charts on the datasheet it shows that using a 10nF capacitor for CF, there is a maximum of 10mv noise (pretty much nothing since the Atmega328 ADC has increments of about 40mv). In the Common Operating Characteristics chart, it shows that the Output load capacitance shouldn't exceed 10nF, so CF should be 10nF or lower.

RF seems to be a simple current limiting resistor so the output of the IC doesn't burn. I would just use something around 1k ohm, its not a particularly critical value at all (correction, see post 1944).
Legot is offline Find More Posts by Legot
Last edited by Legot; Nov 23, 2012 at 05:26 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2012, 03:47 AM
HOL
Registered User
Danmark, Midtjylland, Galten
Joined Oct 2011
36 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RickEis View Post
Legot,

I have both and just soldered the ACS756 as you see in the pict. I need to solder the capacitors ect after I figure which size CF and RF as in the schematic (see report 2164 above)?

The specs say, "CF is for optimal noise management, with values that depend on the application". So what does that mean ?

Not sure if it would wire up the same nor if the code would work as is.

And I'm not sure how we would compare ?

Rick

Rick...
Have a look here:

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...postcount=1944

Looks like a 10 nF capacitor and a 10 K resistor will be close.
HOL is offline Find More Posts by HOL
Last edited by HOL; Nov 23, 2012 at 03:56 AM. Reason: Addition
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2012, 04:41 AM
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, Naerum
Joined Feb 2011
824 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RickEis View Post
Dennis,
You said, "You can connect the voltage from urrent-sensor to Vin (called Raw sometimes) if you want to use the onboard regulator."
Are you suggesting powering the Arduino's with a 3 or 4 cell ~ 11 + Volts? I guess I have been concerned about frying the little guys. And I heard switching BEC's are more efficient (for the larger V drops) then the linear voltage regulators (used by the Arduino's). So,,,,I have been using switching 5 ~ 5.5 V BEC regulators to power Arduino's. I got concerned and looked into when I saw folks frying their $200 APM2 boards Maybe my concern is not valid ?
Don't linear voltage regulators get hot going from 11 + down to 5 ?
Rick
A seperate 5-volt BEC/UBEC is probably the best idea, if you also use it for MAX7456 and GPS

They do get hot, but it depends a lot on the load and input-voltage.

But just stick to the BEC/UBEC, that's the best solution
Dennis Frie is online now Find More Posts by Dennis Frie
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Diy osd karl k FPV Talk 2 May 03, 2011 12:31 AM
Idea New DIY OSD? atari7202 FPV Talk 1 Mar 25, 2011 12:08 AM
Discussion see my own diy OSD video Passion Aerial Photography 7 May 27, 2010 01:28 AM
Discussion REAL homebrew DIY OSD - Check it out! jafoca FPV Talk 8 Jun 29, 2009 06:52 PM
Discussion picoOSD DIY PIC12F683 based OSD in C kbosak FPV Talk 6 Jan 31, 2008 07:47 AM