HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old May 03, 2013, 06:48 PM
United States, FL, Naples
Joined Oct 2011
169 Posts
Discussion
25% Cub air ducting for ESC - Motor

I saw Joe Smith do this on some of his larger 3DHS electric planes, thought I would try it for the Cub. I know its not a work of art but its my first attempt.
RC Erik is offline Find More Posts by RC Erik
to remove ads between posts
Old May 03, 2013, 06:49 PM
Joined Oct 2011
169 Posts
More pics
Old May 03, 2013, 06:49 PM
Joined Oct 2011
169 Posts
And final -
Old May 03, 2013, 07:00 PM
Joined Sep 2011
17 Posts
Wow, very niiiice!
RoysRC is offline Find More Posts by RoysRC
Old May 20, 2013, 03:54 PM
...design-build-fly-publish...
Ware, herts. U.K.
Joined Sep 2008
3,480 Posts
Hi Erik,
I am sure properly ducting incoming air towards motor and ESC will have good effect - but are you aware that for every square inch of intake you need one and a half square inches of free outlet?

With planes like the Cub that can be tricky to achieve. Maybe leave the side windows open? - lots of pilots fly their cubs open.

I assume that as you are going to the trouble of ducting you are running motor and ESC close to their top limits of power?

Robin
eye4wings is offline Find More Posts by eye4wings
Old May 22, 2013, 06:16 AM
Supersonic Engineering
UK, Greater London, Uxbridge
Joined Mar 2001
3,122 Posts
Robin - sorry to burst your bubble, but the increased outlet area is just another one of those perpetuated myths. For proof, take a look at a Spitfire's underwing coolers - you won't see increased outlet area there. Simply put, if the outgoing and expanded air is restricted, it simply speeds up and gives you a bit more thrust.
GordonTarling is offline Find More Posts by GordonTarling
Old May 22, 2013, 07:21 AM
Ware, herts. U.K.
Joined Sep 2008
3,480 Posts