SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Mar 12, 2012, 12:43 AM
Registered User
Canada, BC, Vancouver
Joined Sep 2009
282 Posts
Discussion
Static in video when servo moves?

Hey, I'm having some issues with my first single battery setup, as my previous planes all had a separate video battery

heres my setup
1.2ghz 1000mw Lawmate tx
IBCRAZY Cloverleaf
TBS 69 Camera
Eagletree OSD, Elogger, Guardian
DPCAV SEPIC Voltage regulator 1-35V
DPCAV LC Filter
Hobbyking UBEC
these are all mounted on a rite wing zep2 with 2x 4s 3000mah Zippy Lipos

The problem is that when i move any of the servos (hs-645mg) or start up the motor lines of static will appear in the video, when i throttle up the osd text will "jump" up, heres the video of it
fpv issue (0 min 22 sec)


Any ideas? Thanks
Taiping is offline Find More Posts by Taiping
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 12, 2012, 01:18 AM
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
Lakewood, Colorado
Joined Aug 2002
28,712 Posts
What's powering the RC Rx? ESC's BEC, or the HK UBEC?
If the latter, where in the circuit is the UBEC? Before (close to the battery) or after the LC filter?
ET OSD directly links the receiver and the video system so any noise at the Rx (servo noise, or
ESC noise) bypasses your LC filter. With the connections between Rx and OSD, you
may have also created a ground loop.

ian
Daemon is offline Find More Posts by Daemon
RCG Plus Member
Old Mar 12, 2012, 01:28 AM
Registered User
Canada, BC, Vancouver
Joined Sep 2009
282 Posts
the RX is powered by the UBEC, the video Signal wire is only connected into the OSD, the power to the vtx and cam comes from the ubec. The ubec is at the ESC end of the elogger, where power is spilt to UBEC, Voltage REG and ESC
Taiping is offline Find More Posts by Taiping
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2012, 01:31 AM
FPV junkie
m_beeson's Avatar
United States, UT
Joined Jan 2011
3,390 Posts
Filter the video equipment from all other components.



**EDIT: Oh, I see you did...
m_beeson is offline Find More Posts by m_beeson
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2012, 01:35 AM
Team White Llama!
gundamnitpete's Avatar
Joined Jan 2008
8,144 Posts
torroid on the video line just before the Vtx?

Are you using audio? is the audio wire hanging free? it might be overdriven, or if it's not connected to anything, might want to ground it.


Edit: ninja
gundamnitpete is offline Find More Posts by gundamnitpete
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2012, 01:36 AM
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
Lakewood, Colorado
Joined Aug 2002
28,712 Posts
I don't see any issues in your circuit. No ground loops, and the one LC filter you have, should
be sufficient (I've never had to add a 2nd closer to the video Tx). What are you doing with the
audio line? Is audio signal clamped to ground, or free floating? Might have noise coming in
there, and that can interfere with video. [edit]pete beat me to it.

ian
Daemon is offline Find More Posts by Daemon
RCG Plus Member
Old Mar 12, 2012, 01:42 AM
Registered User
Canada, BC, Vancouver
Joined Sep 2009
282 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daemon View Post
I don't see any issues in your circuit. No ground loops, and the one LC filter you have, should
be sufficient (I've never had to add a 2nd closer to the video Tx). What are you doing with the
audio line? Is audio signal clamped to ground, or free floating? Might have noise coming in
there, and that can interfere with video. [edit]pete beat me to it.

ian
The audio from the vtx is just free floating, should i try grounding it? thanks
Taiping is offline Find More Posts by Taiping
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2012, 02:01 AM
Team White Llama!
gundamnitpete's Avatar
Joined Jan 2008
8,144 Posts
definitely try grounding it.
gundamnitpete is offline Find More Posts by gundamnitpete
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2012, 10:52 AM
Registered User
Canada, BC, Vancouver
Joined Sep 2009
282 Posts
just tried it, it isn't working, any ideas?
Taiping is offline Find More Posts by Taiping
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2012, 11:07 AM
fly by night
BCSaltchucker's Avatar
Joined Sep 2011
5,693 Posts
just go to a separate video battery. Yeah I know you know to do that and wanted to avoid the hassle , but it just make sense now.
BCSaltchucker is online now Find More Posts by BCSaltchucker
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2012, 11:08 AM
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
Lakewood, Colorado
Joined Aug 2002
28,712 Posts
Can only suggest bypassing OSD with the video line just to see if the noise is coming in there.

ian
Daemon is offline Find More Posts by Daemon
RCG Plus Member
Old Mar 12, 2012, 11:55 AM
Registered User
Hugeone's Avatar
Canada,Quebec
Joined Jan 2005
2,048 Posts
Signal come out of the cam and into the OSD and down the OSD's grd. trough the Rx and trough the BEC to finally reach the batts. Problem is your OSD's ground is long and also carry the servo's current. The ground level (0V) of your OSD is not exactly 0V, but change slightly as current from the servos pass. Solution: Feed your servos directly from the Rx, only the signal reaching the OSD.

Good read

-Hugo
Hugeone is offline Find More Posts by Hugeone
Last edited by Hugeone; Mar 12, 2012 at 12:13 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2012, 12:05 PM
Registered User
Canada, BC, Vancouver
Joined Sep 2009
282 Posts
Hugo,
according to this img #4, only + passes through the LC filter, but on my LC filter both + and - passes through. I'm not sure how i should fix this? can you recommend something?

Thanks
Taiping
Taiping is offline Find More Posts by Taiping
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2012, 12:13 PM
Registered User
Hugeone's Avatar
Canada,Quebec
Joined Jan 2005
2,048 Posts
I highlighted the solution above.
Hugeone is offline Find More Posts by Hugeone
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2012, 12:17 PM
Registered User
Canada, BC, Vancouver
Joined Sep 2009
282 Posts
But how would the servos then get power? since power is not passed through the osd?
Taiping is offline Find More Posts by Taiping
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion ar6200 rudder moves when plug in curtqn Radios 20 Feb 04, 2011 10:38 PM
Help! Static noise from the microphone + video noise when motor is working gpsnow FPV Talk 13 Nov 18, 2010 06:06 PM
Discussion My 480 Brushless Moves in and out when throttle applied.... ffokazak Power Systems 4 Feb 21, 2010 12:58 PM
Throttle servo moves when elevator servo is moved chris8105 Fuel Plane Talk 22 Jan 10, 2007 02:53 PM