HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 19, 2015, 07:15 PM
Joined Jan 2015
21 Posts
Discussion
Blade 350 QX3 First Flight Motor Failure

Finally got to take the new Blade 350 QX3 AP out this afternoon for her maiden flight. Mostly sunny and only a light breeze. All went well until my #4 motor kicked the bucket, then upside down she went and SPLAT!

Starting at the beginning. I read, and re-read, all the instructions that came with the quad. I also read several threads about the QX3 here on rcgroups and watched the HH videos to make sure I got her set up correctly. I've been flying an Ethos 180 for about 6 months. Notwithstanding the fact that I'm just competent enough at the controls to keep the little 180 out of the trees, after spending $1K on the QX and reading about several first flight flyaways, I decided not the mount the CGo camera for the test flight. Probably a good decision as it turns out.