HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Oct 22, 2014, 11:00 PM
Rockin' & Flyin'
Saxguy1000's Avatar
Virginia Beach
Joined Dec 2009
2,884 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by thosmosis View Post
What Gyro is the best for this plane? I hear Lemmon is good.
I use the Orange 3x and it flies in perfect scale level flight. Beautiful sight! I have a Lemon, also, but haven't needed it and will put it in another.
Saxguy1000 is offline Find More Posts by Saxguy1000
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 24, 2014, 10:44 AM
"Champ'ion Newb"
thosmosis's Avatar
United States, WA, Vashon
Joined Sep 2013
1,584 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saxguy1000 View Post
I use the Orange 3x and it flies in perfect scale level flight. Beautiful sight! I have a Lemon, also, but haven't needed it and will put it in another.
I just received the Orange Rx Gyro. And will test it out. Seems to have sensitivity pots, and reversal dip switches. Pretty easy to see how that works. I guess, once you connect it, move it around in your hand and make sure that the surfaces correct in the right direction. If not, slide the dip switch for that particular surface.

This plane could use a gyro. But I may try one on my slower flying Archer first. Still, all of this electronic help between me and the plane. Until I get used to it -- I hope it just doesn't help me crash!
thosmosis is offline Find More Posts by thosmosis
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2014, 12:44 PM
Registered User
United States, CA, San Diego
Joined Oct 2013
634 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by thosmosis View Post
I just received the Orange Rx Gyro. And will test it out. Seems to have sensitivity pots, and reversal dip switches. Pretty easy to see how that works. I guess, once you connect it, move it around in your hand and make sure that the surfaces correct in the right direction. If not, slide the dip switch for that particular surface.

This plane could use a gyro. But I may try one on my slower flying Archer first. Still, all of this electronic help between me and the plane. Until I get used to it -- I hope it just doesn't help me crash!
I started with the Orange on my T28, worked for a while then had several signal loss/brown out type incidents. I grounded it right away until I had a chance to order Lemon. As we've discussed already, Orange is DSM2, inferior protocol to DSMX.
deadzone is offline Find More Posts by deadzone
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2014, 12:57 PM
"Champ'ion Newb"
thosmosis's Avatar
United States, WA, Vashon
Joined Sep 2013
1,584 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by deadzone View Post
I started with the Orange on my T28, worked for a while then had several signal loss/brown out type incidents. I grounded it right away until I had a chance to order Lemon. As we've discussed already, Orange is DSM2, inferior protocol to DSMX.
I did recently start buying the full range DSMX R620 by Orange. This was before I realized that Lemon is better. But as I was lamenting on the Archer thread. I now have all of these Orange Rx's... I imagine the R620 full range should be fine. I have only installed it in one plane. No problems so far...
thosmosis is offline Find More Posts by thosmosis
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2014, 01:03 PM
Registered User
United States, CA, San Diego
Joined Oct 2013
634 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by thosmosis View Post
I did recently start buying the full range DSMX R620 by Orange. This was before I realized that Lemon is better. But as I was lamenting on the Archer thread. I now have all of these Orange Rx's... I imagine the R620 full range should be fine. I have only installed it in one plane. No problems so far...
I suspect the issue is more related to the DSM2 protocol, not that Orange Rx is crap. But I've never tried Orange DSMX so can't say for sure.
deadzone is offline Find More Posts by deadzone
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2014, 07:59 PM
Registered User
United States, CA, San Jose
Joined Jun 2012
1,454 Posts
I was trying to straighten out the spindle that connect the front landing gear to the frame, and it flew into never-land. Does anyone have idea for a replacement. I most likely need to just buy the whole front gear.
Jasen40 is offline Find More Posts by Jasen40
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2014, 08:17 PM
Addicted To Flying Foam
kman24's Avatar
United States, NE, Bennington
Joined Jan 2010
4,932 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasen40 View Post
I was trying to straighten out the spindle that connect the front landing gear to the frame, and it flew into never-land. Does anyone have idea for a replacement. I most likely need to just buy the whole front gear.
Looks like you need the whole front landing gear, unless you can find something close at the hardware store/home improvement shop.

http://www.motionrc.com/fms-800mm-t2...ding-gear-set/

Kman
kman24 is offline Find More Posts by kman24
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2014, 10:04 PM
Registered User
United States, NC, Pilot Mountain
Joined Oct 2011
232 Posts
This thread has been dead for a couple of months but here goes anyway::

I was hoping to make this a replacement for my micro T-28 and also use the control system from a horizon 280-sized Edge 540QQ(about 26" plane). Is this thing so heavy that the 3s-10A esc/motor would not get the job done? The 540 will launch vertical and go until out of sight/range if I let it. The specs show this plane to be nearly double the weight but how much of that weight is the equipment inside? I'd be sold if the Horizon/E-flite 280 part could be effective. If the spec'ed weight includes the recommended battery then it could work, I think.

I like this size a lot. Seems perfect for rural 2-lane road landings. Horizon had a 280 Mustang but no landing gear. I think take-off and landings are a big part of the experience.
Ikankrachuhmoll is offline Find More Posts by Ikankrachuhmoll
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2014, 10:36 PM
that's gonna leave a scar
KCinNC's Avatar
United States, NC, Mooresville
Joined Aug 2007
3,626 Posts
I don't think anything on the Edge 540QQ will work with a 800mm T-28..sorry man.

but if you want to move up from the micro T-28...the 800mm is what you want !!

there are really only two good versions out there

Airfield....sold @ Nitroplanes.com. has the (RTF)Ready to Fly model. & (PNP) add your own receiver & transmitter model

FMS....sold @ MotionRC.com....only has the (PNP) add your own receiver & transmitter model

I fly the FMS versions.....spare parts are easy to get

hope this helps you a little......these are awesome flyers......GET ONE !
KCinNC is online now Find More Posts by KCinNC
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2014, 03:39 PM
Registered User
rccraze's Avatar
United States, VA, Herndon
Joined Jul 2012
173 Posts
Does anyone know if the type of foam on Fun-Fighter T-28 is same as Sky Angels 50 mm F-35? I feel the T-28 foam is way stronger than F-35. Is that really true? Are they both EPP foam?
rccraze is offline Find More Posts by rccraze
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sold Airfield Extreme Detail 4-Channel Remote F4U Corsair 800mm (31.5") Mikemynameis Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 2 Jul 07, 2011 12:50 AM
Discussion 800mm T-28 varian Nitro Planes 2 Jun 26, 2011 02:32 PM