Old Apr 27, 2012, 05:26 PM
But will it fly ??
Ireland, Dublin
Joined Apr 2010
181 Posts
Discussion
Lipo run time question !!

Hi guys..

Just bought a few new 1500mah 3s 25c lipos for my brand new yak...
Im fairly new to the electric game but have most setups situations under control.
Now as my understanding goes.. Lipos should be flown a couple of times conserveatly to break them in...

Thats no problem and Ive been doing exactly that... But more recently I've ordered a couple of low voltage alarms that im waitin on.. For my backup I have a Gt voltage analyser that lets me set a alarm threshold of 3.3v per cell..
While this is bulky it will do for peace of mind until its smaller brothers arive..
But now here's the dilema... I would be flying around for a few minutes on lazy throttle and then I hear the alarm so I land the plane..
Huh ?? Ive just been up a minute... So I check the pack voltage on the analyser and the voltage has a lowest cell of 3.3v
I let the pack rest for a few mins while I get another one installed and then recheck it and its 3.9v lowest cell ????
I have 3 new packs and sometimes they lie and sometimes I get roughly 8 mins of conservative flying... what's the deal with the Batts man !!
Is this a kind of issue with newly cycled batts...Something like they take a couple of runs to establish themselves...

Anyway s... Until I get it sorted im kinda half nervous of flying to far away because I had the throttle die on me this evening while I was inverted in a climb about 30 feet from the ground... Saved her but wasn't happy man...

So has anyone been in similar waters before...
Sure love some advise..

3DA
3d addict is offline Find More Posts by 3d addict
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 27, 2012, 05:40 PM
Team Hillbilly (UK)
United Kingdom, England, Cambs
Joined Oct 2011
1,396 Posts