SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Sep 25, 2013, 07:50 AM
Registered User
Rick~K's Avatar
United States, WV, Salt Rock
Joined Nov 2006
184 Posts
Looks like they may have discontinued the Arizona, but I found one and ordered it.
Rick~K is offline Find More Posts by Rick~K
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 25, 2013, 06:17 PM
Helicopter Pilot
Rafael23cc's Avatar
Junction City, KS
Joined Sep 2004
682 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick~K View Post
I'm using , Align 610's on the cyclic, Futaba S9203 on the throttle, and Futaba S9252 on the tail with a align GP780 gyro. The BEC is a Great Planes 3a for 2~6 lipos GPMM1920, to supply 6 volts in to a AR7110R receiver to get the 5 volts to the tail,gyro and throttle from a 7.4v 2S 3000mah LiPo. But I just ordered a Align RCE-B6X 6 amp to replace that with.
You have an AR7110R. Why do you need a regulator? There is a Rev Limiter AND a Regulator already built into the receiver!!

Just read the overview here:
http://www.spektrumrc.com/Products/D...dId=SPMAR7110R

Rafael
Rafael23cc is offline Find More Posts by Rafael23cc
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2013, 06:33 PM
Registered User
Rick~K's Avatar
United States, WV, Salt Rock
Joined Nov 2006
184 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rafael23cc View Post
You have an AR7110R. Why do you need a regulator? There is a Rev Limiter AND a Regulator already built into the receiver!!

Just read the overview here:
http://www.spektrumrc.com/Products/D...dId=SPMAR7110R

Rafael
Output voltage: Rudder, Aux 2, Throttle 2, Gear 2 = 5.2 volts/ all other channels
unregulated (for high voltage compatible servos only) . The output on the non- 5.2v channels would be 7.4v and I'm running Align 610's on the cyclic that are 6v so I need to drop the 7.4v to 6v.
Rick~K is offline Find More Posts by Rick~K
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2013, 07:20 AM
Registered User
Rick~K's Avatar
United States, WV, Salt Rock
Joined Nov 2006
184 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick~K View Post
Looks like they may have discontinued the Arizona, but I found one and ordered it.
Well..... found out my order was back ordered after showing to in stock at GrandRC so that is canceled after a email saying it would be in stock in 10 day. I called Formeco and the Arizona is out of production, but he said the Sahara was built off the Arizona so I ordered one.
Rick~K is offline Find More Posts by Rick~K
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2013, 03:30 PM
Helicopter Pilot
Rafael23cc's Avatar
Junction City, KS
Joined Sep 2004
682 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick~K View Post
Output voltage: Rudder, Aux 2, Throttle 2, Gear 2 = 5.2 volts/ all other channels
unregulated (for high voltage compatible servos only) . The output on the non- 5.2v channels would be 7.4v and I'm running Align 610's on the cyclic that are 6v so I need to drop the 7.4v to 6v.
Here is a few links for you to read:
Amperage draw on digital servos:
http://rc.runryder.com/helicopter/t697508p1/

Align 610 on High Voltage:
http://www.rccanada.ca/rccforum/showthread.php?t=107194

I've got Arizonas in ALL my helicopters. But I do not use the AR71XX receiver. I prefer modular equipment just in case something fails. Modular equipment is easier to replace.

DO NOT Use a 6amp BEC on a helicopter loaded with Align 610 servos. Leave the BECs for the foam airplane guys.

Rafael
Rafael23cc is offline Find More Posts by Rafael23cc
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2013, 01:36 AM
Registered User
auckland New Zealand
Joined Aug 2008
21 Posts
bec/regulaters

in my nitro helicopters i use a hobbyking dlux 10a linear reg on my nx 4 with a 2 s lipo,while on my velocity 50 i use a gryphon quasar with a 3 s lipo.
Its especialy important to use a reg any time you are using hv digital servos to avoid the above mentioned brown outs
rob mc is offline Find More Posts by rob mc
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2013, 05:54 PM
Helicopter Pilot
Rafael23cc's Avatar
Junction City, KS
Joined Sep 2004
682 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rob mc View Post
Its especialy important to use a reg any time you are using hv digital servos to avoid the above mentioned brown outs
Why would you use a regulator on an HV set-up? Doesn't HV stand for High Voltage? as in 8.3 volts (or more)? If i spend the money on HV servos, I don't want a regulator to get in the way. If you put a regulator on HV servos, you are not getting the optimum performance out of those servos.

Don't mean to single you out, but you need to know your equipment to get the performance that you are looking for. Digital servos is one thing, HV Digital servos is another story completely. And the regulator will not help at all if you do not have an appropriately sized battery.

Rafael
Rafael23cc is offline Find More Posts by Rafael23cc
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 05, 2013, 01:16 AM
Garland
Ghia's Avatar
USA, NM, Albuquerque
Joined Jul 2003
503 Posts
2 cell pack of A123 is alot safer then a 2s lipo with out the need for a bec or regulator as each cell is 3.3v nominal. I will never go back to lipos except as the motor power.
Ghia is offline Find More Posts by Ghia
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 05, 2013, 07:01 AM
Registered User
Rick~K's Avatar
United States, WV, Salt Rock
Joined Nov 2006
184 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghia View Post
2 cell pack of A123 is alot safer then a 2s lipo with out the need for a bec or regulator as each cell is 3.3v nominal. I will never go back to lipos except as the motor power.
My friend fly's LiFe's in his gasser, are not all LiFe's A123? I've never used them.
Rick~K is offline Find More Posts by Rick~K
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 06, 2013, 01:57 AM
Garland
Ghia's Avatar
USA, NM, Albuquerque
Joined Jul 2003
503 Posts
Here is some good reading on A123 and Life batteries. Similar to each other but the round A123 are designed different to the life

http://www.hangtimes.com/a123_batter...iants_faq.html
Ghia is offline Find More Posts by Ghia
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 06, 2013, 06:36 AM
Registered User
Rick~K's Avatar
United States, WV, Salt Rock
Joined Nov 2006
184 Posts
Thanks!
Rick~K is offline Find More Posts by Rick~K
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 06, 2013, 08:07 PM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2007
845 Posts
Last I heard, the company that made the A123 cells for our use when under so they are now hard to come by.
Cyclick is offline Find More Posts by Cyclick
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 07, 2013, 05:57 PM
Garland
Ghia's Avatar
USA, NM, Albuquerque
Joined Jul 2003
503 Posts
Yes something happened to the hybrid car side of the business and a123 declared bankruptcy. But the commercial battery arm is still producing cells as they have factories overseas.

http://a123rc.com/category-66-b0-A12...ementCell.html
Ghia is offline Find More Posts by Ghia
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion burning laser driver voltage reg question 18t DIY Electronics 4 Jun 02, 2013 04:19 PM
Sold MPI voltage Reg switch mikes68charger Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 1 Feb 06, 2013 10:11 AM
Found MPI voltage reg switch mikes68charger Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 0 Feb 05, 2013 07:40 PM
Discussion DX6 Voltage reg replacement. Sniper.308 Radios 1 May 05, 2007 09:36 AM
F/s F/t Lots of items. Speed 400, 280 motors. Voltage reg. Gws pico receiver, Dxa GB reznikvova Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 6 Jul 02, 2003 09:24 AM