Old Feb 21, 2013, 03:49 AM
Find More Posts by GBLynden
I am GBLynden
United States, WA, Lynden
Joined Mar 2011
3,861 Posts
Discussion
Starmax F-18 EDF Jet (Blue Angel Paint)

I have to start off by saying I have been flying RC for about two years now and I love it!

My second plane was this jet and needless to say, it has been to hell and back. As a tribute to it, I am going to post a few videos I have of its flying history including a nasty crash that took place where it busted the canopy off and it still flew like a champ!

This is the very first recorded flight I made with it and only the second successful flight. The video is a little crude, but I am proud of it. The videos do get better as does my flying with it:
StarMax 64mm EDF F-18 Super Hornet Blue Angel - Third Flight Different Angle - Part I (1 min 21 sec)

Here is a really cool look at it being hand launched:
RC F-18 Super Hornet Quick Flight at Dusk. (1 min 27 sec)

Here is a the crash after a bad hand launch:
F/A-18 64mm EDF Jet Crash on Take-Off in HD (0 min 53 sec)

Here is a the flight immediately after with no canopy on it with high speed low passes:
RC F-18 Low Passes (2 min 33 sec)

The final video is a look at how it handles wind. With is its achilles heel for sure:
RC F-18 Dancing in the Wind (2 min 32 sec)

I am extremely pleased with my $109 Banana Hobby purchase. Everything is holding up after being abused and I couldn't be any happier with this plane!

Thanks for viewing and please feel free to share your pictures and videos to compare and contrast this with other EDF's.

GB
GBLynden is online now Find More Posts by GBLynden
Last edited by GBLynden; Jun 14, 2013 at 04:25 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 21, 2013, 06:17 AM
Find More Posts by 4stripes
Canada, ON, Burlington
Joined Jan 2009
3,867 Posts
Great work GB
Another modeler caught the EDF bug!
If you like this version, you should try one of the 90mm size F-18's. They fly great!
4stripes is offline Find More Posts by 4stripes