HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Oct 05, 2014, 05:43 PM
United States, MA, Needham
Joined Apr 2013
261 Posts
Discussion
Star 45 build

I have just started a Star 45. My school gained access to a laser cutter and the only thing I could think of to use it for is for the parts of a hull. I found the CAD files for a star 45 here:
http://www.mainzone.com/star45frames/
This build will probably take a long time because I have never done anything like this before and I still have school.
My local club sails them so hopefully after the winter I may have a boat to sail.
Captain Pique is online now Find More Posts by Captain Pique
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 06, 2014, 11:09 AM
Joined Jan 2006
603 Posts
Good luck. the Star is not a hard build. Since you are using laser cut parts, it takes some of the hard work out of it. If you need the files for the fin and rudder for cutting let me know and I can send you them as well. I am the guy who did all the cad work and am glad to share the files to help build the class.

John
slotracer577 is offline Find More Posts by slotracer577
Old Oct 06, 2014, 03:09 PM
United States, FL, Indialantic
Joined Jul 2008
180 Posts
star 45

There are some new rules in place for building a star 45
check out the class website the new rules should be up soon.
or you could email class sectary about them.
Mike

ktm500mx is offline Find More Posts by ktm500mx
Old Oct 06, 2014, 05:11 PM
Joined Jan 2006
603 Posts
The "new" rules are simply a inclusion of the existing rule interpretations into the class rules. Never a bad idea to read the class rules before building, but there should be no surprises in the changes.
Old Oct 06, 2014, 07:08 PM
Joined Apr 2013
261 Posts
Thanks so much for the CAD files. I never would have been able to do this otherwise.
Old Oct 07, 2014, 06:27 AM
United States, CT, Essex
Joined Mar 2013
267 Posts