HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Closed Thread
Old Mar 23, 2014, 03:41 AM
United States, CA, Huntington Beach
Joined Feb 2014
7 Posts
Rant
Blitzworks jollyroger F-18

Just recently purchase one of these from Banana Hobbier at the AMA show in January 2014. It looked great from the outside and had a lot of features. Not knowing much about the bird and seeing to reports, that I could find, I purchased one along with 2 other airplanes. A few weeks later I decided to tackle the project. At first when opening the box it was beautiful. The detail was great for a foam airplane. I have been building for about 25 years and mostly scale nitro airplanes. I checked out all the servos with a servo tester prior to beginning and all seemed to work with the exception of the left rudder. Now the fun began. This appeared to be a rather fast build for me. Bye fast I mean about 2 or 3 days. Most parts went together well, however, I did notice the horizontal stab as being week and I placed 3/4 glass cloth with MinWax on them to strengthen, then I noticed the front of the fuse as being rather week also so I place some carbon fiber stringers to stiffen the nose before the cockpit area. Now once I did this I noticed the folding wings were not a robust as I would like so I did some mods on them as well. I place everything together and hooked up the power to the BEC. Well that's when everything began to happen. The BEC was wired improperly from the factory and caused all of the wing servos to fry. Normally not a problem. Well normal in this case is not the word to use. The folding wing locking mechanism is in the body of the fuse. Get my drift? Now I had to cut a hole in the fuse through the bottom. I was able to get to the servo, however, they use servos with very small servo gear. So small none of my extra 150 servos would fit. I still haven't got a replacement for any of the items , of which went wrong. This means the plane after 3 months has not been flown. Over 8 servos were cooked