HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 27, 2013, 01:05 AM
United States, NJ, Raritan
Joined Dec 2011
10 Posts
Question
Moving to Composites

Hi all,

So I'm looking to make the change from foamies to composites/glass EDFs. Looking for some advice on what to look out for, to avoid costly mistakes.

First I want to provide some details on my experience and current fleet.

I have been flying for over 2 years now, started off on a foam 55" Cessna trainer and lots of flight time on 47" Piper Cub. Progressed to Helis- Align 250, 500, 600.
My experience with EDF thus far has been a few months flying a Phase 3 F-16 70mm, and a Mini F22 50mm with a Don's wicked/wemo mod (this is a ton of fun to fly) and a Freewing SU-35 with TV. Everything is still in once piece. I fly my EDFs with confidence, ease, and perform all my own hand-launches.

I'm starting to get a little bored with the foamies and want to move into composites and glass planes. I want to fly something with some mass! I fly at a grass field and prefer to fly with gear rather than bungees (I already have enough stuff to bring to the field).

I'm interested in a winter project so I have been looking into a few kits such as the HET Super Sniper and the Habu 32. I am looking for some suggestions for other kits as well. I would like to fly 90mm running 6S(I have a ton of 6S for all my helis. I'm not looking to break any speed records yet, but want something that is stable and wont have my butt clenched the whole time. Any advice that would help me with this transition is greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

-Anthony
ant2004sti is offline Find More Posts by ant2004sti
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 27, 2013, 06:03 AM
Da' Cajun
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Joined Jun 2009
2,868 Posts
Don't know much about the 90mm sized jets out there but look around on RCG, should be a thread on just about every bird available.