HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jul 07, 2014, 11:14 AM
Registered User
limmacslim's Avatar
United Kingdom, London
Joined Jun 2012
894 Posts
Sorry mate, I don't have a v911 pro tx. I had a quick search & the pro version apparently also uses the Flysky protocol so I am guessing it should work although Dave seemed to have some issues.

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...07&postcount=3
limmacslim is offline Find More Posts by limmacslim
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My first little Multiwii quad
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 07, 2014, 01:02 PM
Go small or go home
ruzam's Avatar
Canada, SK, Regina
Joined Mar 2008
1,393 Posts
What's the weight of the brick?
ruzam is online now Find More Posts by ruzam
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 07, 2014, 01:10 PM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2014
16 Posts
Thanks for the help.

Looks like f939 got better brushed ESC(can't be 100% sure until I measure it)
lvlthn is offline Find More Posts by lvlthn
Last edited by lvlthn; Jul 07, 2014 at 03:23 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 07, 2014, 09:39 PM
Cheese eating monkey.
France, Bretagne, Rennes
Joined Jul 2011
230 Posts
My V911 board came without antenna. Do I just solder any bit of wire or do I need something more specific?
Panoramix is offline Find More Posts by Panoramix
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 08, 2014, 12:42 AM
Rusty
Rusty Nail's Avatar
Auckland, New Zealand
Joined Feb 2006
862 Posts
A 26mm solid strand of copper wire without coax shield is standard.
A better range can be made with a Boda T shaped aerial as per Dave's instructions.
Rusty Nail is online now Find More Posts by Rusty Nail
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 08, 2014, 02:52 AM
Registered User
mrexcel's Avatar
Joined Jul 2009
1,309 Posts
Has anyone here converted the brushed main motor to brushless using BLHeli software without using any additional hardware except a brushless ESC flashed with BLHeli?
mrexcel is online now Find More Posts by mrexcel
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 08, 2014, 03:12 AM
Registered User
slebetman's Avatar
Malaysia, Selangor, Kajang
Joined Jun 2009
1,386 Posts
For anyone trying to figure out how to get super light covering film try grocery vegetable plastic bags. The kind that comes in a roll and you tear one off to bag your greens.

I've been using them for my rubber powered indoor duration free flight planes. They're almost as light as competition grade mylar (1 micron) but much cheaper. I get them for free by grabbing a couple extra bags when I do my grocery shopping.

I glue them on with 3M spray mount (not 77) sprayed on the plane but I build with balsa. If you're using foam then maybe try a light spray on the plastic.
slebetman is online now Find More Posts by slebetman
Last edited by slebetman; Jul 08, 2014 at 11:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 08, 2014, 06:41 AM
Registered User
limmacslim's Avatar
United Kingdom, London
Joined Jun 2012
894 Posts
Slebetman very good idea, thanks , I was planning on using super thin plastic sheeting which decorators use to cover flooring/furniture. Its very similar to food bags, just bigger.
It was something I had been considering then by accident I came across plans for the Yak which I had earlier posted a video of, he uses the same stuff http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1347482

Mr excel, I have been meaning to try a v911 brick but not had the chance so far. My v922 heli has a similar brushed brick that has been converted to brushless using just a 1S esc & 5g BL motor. Blheli is fantastic! give it a try it works great.

Ruzam, a brick fresh from the bag with stock (mcpx style) plug weighs 5.1g on my scales.
limmacslim is offline Find More Posts by limmacslim
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My first little Multiwii quad
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 08, 2014, 02:07 PM
Cheese eating monkey.
France, Bretagne, Rennes
Joined Jul 2011
230 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rusty Nail View Post
A 26mm solid strand of copper wire without coax shield is standard.
A better range can be made with a Boda T shaped aerial as per Dave's instructions.
Thanks.
Panoramix is offline Find More Posts by Panoramix
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 10, 2014, 01:28 PM
Weltherrschaft will be mine
Germany, SN, Leipzig
Joined Nov 2012
242 Posts
maidened my multiplex mini solius today.... a real glider it does float in the air.... a real good airframe . setup is f939 ( no heli; but cheap... and a v911 descendent) brick and servo. auw with 200mah v911 batt is 58.4 gramms. 0.6 under what i guessed it would be and at least 3 gramms over what is possible
fryed some lipo s on maiden... i bent more pitch into my umx radian prop blades, which def increased speed but seemingly also power consumption. while changing batts i noticed the used one was really hot, than saw the 3 used before where a bit puffy...
so now i go stock prop, should do it . the plane also needs more throw on ail and ele its bit phlegmatic without ruder and does insane big loops, but i ll figger that one out
if i had a bl ready esc undr 5 gramms ( got nun at all) i would go 1s gearbox with my 14000kv 5gramm outrunner( we need adreamin icon)
borkencorter is offline Find More Posts by borkencorter
Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 09:47 AM
Registered User
limmacslim's Avatar
United Kingdom, London
Joined Jun 2012
894 Posts
Borken im thinking similar things....
I made a 460mm span micro 4ch yak 55m with a f939 brick (Gernot Bruckmann design ) but its a bit too heavy (41.5g) & barely hangs on the prop, no micro 3d action for now lol .
I have been experimenting with milling the depron & covering it with food bags (already had a roll in the cupboard, thanks slebetman!) so I might make a whole new airframe. I also used a 2.5g servo so can save a little weight if i order a new 1.7g servo.

I will try to loose some weight first but would prefer to use this esc with Blheli firmware & some stacked fets. I have a 5g 3000kv motor which normally runs on 2s & made 110g of thrust with a 5030 prop, I think with a good wind 70g thrust on 1s might not be too far fetched but would probably require a slightly larger lipo (300mah).
limmacslim is offline Find More Posts by limmacslim
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My first little Multiwii quad
Reply With Quote
Old Today, 03:39 AM
im 13 years old..
rayhanbackyard's Avatar
Joined Jul 2014
1 Posts
hi guys, iv'e got a V911 with a broken prop shaft, and i just found an air hog e-charger motor and gearbox sitting for 3 years in a box,so im wondering if i can cut the main motor wire and solder my air hogs motor into the pcb/brick, this is definitely going to draw more amp due to larger motor and a 3x2 prop (i think the pitch is less than 2), and whats the max current the brick can handle without getting fried??
rayhanbackyard is offline Find More Posts by rayhanbackyard
Reply With Quote
Old Today, 10:51 AM
Registered User
limmacslim's Avatar
United Kingdom, London
Joined Jun 2012
894 Posts
rayhanbackyard. Im not 100% sure of the FET's maximum rating because there is a few different versions of A2SHB. The V911's are possibly rated around 2A http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...&postcount=108
limmacslim is offline Find More Posts by limmacslim
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My first little Multiwii quad
Reply With Quote
Old Today, 02:24 PM
Weltherrschaft will be mine
Germany, SN, Leipzig
Joined Nov 2012
242 Posts
I think it ahndles at least 3 me and others in this thread have successfully run 2 8,5 mm motors of the main motor out ... an they draw at least 1,5 amps each. besides ar 6400 is capable of 3 amps too.
have yet to burn or brown out one, and ive run 2 7*20 +2 6*12 one one output

other thing batts in my f939 brich equipet glider get hot and i dunno why, fly same prop gearbox motor on several other 911 brick birds (same weight) and the batt is cold there after 5 min wot. 1 min wot with the glider gives a hot batt, what could that be. it startet after the conversion, in my 939 i never had a hot batt. could it be that it is too good isolatet in my no hole,sleek, epp glider? on the other vplanes the batt has some airflow over it. or a short in the leads somewhere
borkencorter is offline Find More Posts by borkencorter
Reply With Quote
Old Today, 02:40 PM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2014
16 Posts
If I'm right with calculations(I just simplify this here) whole system(PCB+main motor+rear motor+servos) draw 1,5-2A max. It can be as high as 3A momentarily though(limited to few seconds?)
lvlthn is offline Find More Posts by lvlthn
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wanted WTB: micro 1 cell brushless power system for um parkzone plane (ar6400 brick) ddrummer508 Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 1 May 16, 2012 09:55 PM
Sold Moving sale! Clearing out some cool RC stuff! Cars, planes, helis- local pickup in OR aaronredbaron Non R/C Items (FS/W) 7 May 16, 2012 06:50 AM
Question Heli motor in a plane? metalfred Power Systems 3 Apr 18, 2012 07:44 PM
Sold Pattern plane,Trainer planes Cheap!Need to move fast. radman615 Non R/C Items (FS/W) 5 Mar 03, 2012 05:16 PM
For Sale planes planes planes cheap milfiebre Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 12 Dec 04, 2011 08:23 AM