New Products Flash Sale
Old Apr 01, 2015, 09:59 AM
Find More Posts by jensstern
Joined Nov 2010
41 Posts
Build Log
B36 peacemaker "the big stick of the 50s" from zero to lift-off

Hello guys. This is actually not a build-log in real-time because the plane is already nearly finished yet but I thought it's still worth sharing some experience.

I went into a B36 peacemaker. yes! Why would somebody do such a build? My background is as follows: I built and flew several twin engine electrics then I finished my 4-engine C130 which flew superb right away. So I thought how could I repeat my experiences in a similar model? The B36 has a simple fuselage - let's do it.

The model bases on cores of white expanded styrofoam sheeted with 1mm-balsa.

I had a set of old plans from the 60s seemingly 100 times copied already but nevermind .
jensstern is offline Find More Posts by jensstern
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 01, 2015, 10:02 AM
Joined Nov 2010
41 Posts
Nose and tail built up in oldshool style with planking balsa over formers. Sounds easy but just took time...
Old Apr 01, 2015, 10:05 AM
Joined Nov 2010
41 Posts
For transportation reasons I decided to go with a fixed ruder and removeable elevators. Each side received one servo. Connection with MPX connector and MPX snap-lock.

Pictures shows cutting rudder core and finished rudder.

-Jens
Old Apr 01, 2015, 10:09 AM
Joined Nov 2010
41 Posts
Cutting the wings brought a huge progress and some new motivation. As for the spar I was very limited with space. I decided to build an I-beam for maximum strength at low weight.
Old Apr 01, 2015, 10:12 AM
Joined Nov 2010
41 Posts
Nacelle time. These babies took siginifcant time to complete with planking over formers... Cooling air inlets were made from solid balsa.
Old Apr 01, 2015, 10:14 AM
Joined Nov 2010
41 Posts
And this is were I made my first huge mistake that drove me crazy nearly a year later....Oouch. Can anyone guess from the pics already? To be continued..