Old Nov 28, 2014, 07:33 PM
aka: Scott Ellis
United States, MT, Billings
Joined Dec 2012
1,292 Posts
Discussion
Slope Airplane Suggestions?

(Season's) Greetings, folks!

I'm brand new to this section of RC Groups, pretty new to gliders and slope soaring, and not exactly a grizzled old veteran of RC (been building off and on since, uh, the late 60's, but never flew RC until a couple of years ago). I have a pretty fine local slope and have had several successful flights out there with my Art Hobby Sky EV 2m. The slope is backed buy a huge flat and obstacle-free field, and I've discovered that if the winds are light, you can land anyplace you want out there, easy as can be. If they're medium, it's turbulent, but still quite possible. If, as today, they're a little higher still, it is turbulent out there beyond the capabilities of the Sky to maintain controlled flight. (Luckily, the damage incurred in learning that lesson was slight.)

So as far as I can gather, the trick is actually not to try to land downwind in the rotors and such but rather to sort of crab right along the ridge and, you know, gently land at one's feet. But doing that in a higher wind is going to require something with better "brakes" than the Sky can generate with spoilerons alone. I could (and well might) add flaps to that airplane, but even if I do, it's still going to remain rather fragile. That's fine for a light-air airplane, but it brings me to my question: