HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 13, 2012, 05:18 PM
United Kingdom, England, Windermere
Joined Oct 2010
199 Posts
Discussion
making your own thermal..!

I'm new to the sport of hand launch, so please be gentle with me..

I was thinking.. that if you pegged out a say 10m (30ft) square black plastic sheet in the corner of a field, in a wind shadow, ( i know such a field) on a sunny day, do you think it would produce any usable thermals for me and my little Elf to float about on..? or am i oversimplifying things as usual..

Chris..
Manonthegrassyknoll is offline Find More Posts by Manonthegrassyknoll
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 13, 2012, 05:53 PM
3...2...1...See'Ya!!!!
Minneapolis
Joined Jan 2006
922 Posts
I think you would be better off lighting a camp fire...
jrbackus is offline Find More Posts by jrbackus
Old Jan 13, 2012, 05:59 PM
Joined Oct 2010
199 Posts
thanks jrbackus but the field in question is a school playing field so setting fire to it is not an option..unfortunately..
Old Jan 13, 2012, 06:23 PM
They call me Maj. Sink!
Paso Robles, Ca
Joined Nov 2008
746 Posts
Just get all the guys at the field together in a group and bs a bit and fly overhead. I know a lot of the guys I fly with are full of hot air!
stoked6.0 is offline Find More Posts by stoked6.0
Old Jan 13, 2012, 06:25 PM
Joined Oct 2010
199 Posts
ha.ha.. I know a few like that.. I know some hot babes..would they work..?
Old Jan 13, 2012, 07:05 PM
United States, FL, Gainesville
Joined Dec 2005
2,855 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by stoked6.0 View Post
Just get all the guys at the field together in a group and bs a bit and fly overhead. I know a lot of the guys I fly with are full of hot air!
Yeah, and take everybody out for burritos the night before
Dave
David Forbes is online now Find More Posts by David Forbes
Old Jan 13, 2012, 08:00 PM
United States, NY, Lewiston
Joined Apr 2011
323 Posts