Old Aug 15, 2015, 03:33 PM
Find More Posts by amigob
Netherlands
Joined May 2009
187 Posts
Help!
Dual batery full redundant regulated powersupply

Hi you all

I am trying to design a dual battery full redundant regulated power supply.
- no single point of failure
- No current limiting
- fix output voltage ( for now )
- both batteries need to be used

I have now this

- until second red line : is on/off switch ( using emcotec dpsi switch later more )
- until third red line : use of both batteries
- until fourth line : linear regulator no current limiting

the p channel mosfet don't have the correct part name. I am looking still for a correct low Ron P channel mosfet .

the 6 pin header is for the emcotec switch. Pint 2 is commen for both on and off. en 1 and 3 are then On and Off. I am still looking for the male connector for this.

So does this work, a I am not that good at analog electronic design ?
Or are the any improvement ?
amigob is offline Find More Posts by amigob
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 15, 2015, 04:55 PM
Netherlands
Joined May 2009
187 Posts
I was checking every thing and realized that the power switching part is not working because off switch is connected to the ground.

Here is a drawing on what I found when I opened up the dpsi switch

On the left is what I have seen in the switch only the diode I am not sure.
It can take full 2s voltage for the power led.

on the right a new design to steer the on/off P channel mosfet

Old Aug 16, 2015, 12:29 AM
Find More Posts by vollrathd
Joined Jan 2007
3,108 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by amigob View Post
Hi you all

I am trying to design a dual battery full redundant regulated power supply.
- no single point of failure
- No current limiting
- fix output voltage ( for now )
- both batteries need to be used
?
What is your application? Model airplanes?