HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jul 29, 2014, 04:07 AM
Germany, HE, Frankfurt
Joined Nov 2013
30 Posts
Discussion
Hobbyking Specter 1800mm or Deamon Electric Sailplane Composite 2000mm

Hi!

I'm thinking about buying a new glider. which should I take?

http://hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store...dproduct=53913

or

http://hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store...dproduct=52797

I've got some experience in building models and i want a easy to transport glider, but no foam.

Best regards
Christian
christian0007 is online now Find More Posts by christian0007
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 29, 2014, 09:14 AM
Proud member of LISF and ESL
LI, New York, USA
Joined Mar 2003
24,369 Posts
Looks like the same glider, just 200 mm difference. that means that there is only a 100 mm difference in the length of each wing, about 4". So you have to decide if that matters for your storage or transport.

I would normally go for the larger span for better visibility in thermals.
aeajr is online now Find More Posts by aeajr
Old Jul 29, 2014, 10:15 AM
Joined Apr 2012
2,618 Posts
Hi, Christian.

I have a Specter but it's from an earlier production run than currently offered. I really enjoy it and there were only a few minor issues to fix. The provided pushrods needed to be replaced and I needed to rework the servo mount and actually grind the corners off my ruddervator servos to fit in the fuselage. It's also a bit heavier than HK claims and I suspect that they weighed theirs without a battery.

From what I have read about the new batch it sounds like they share the same minor problems. It also appears that they changed the location of the aileron servos so one needs a little creativity to achieve a good fit and, more disturbing, several people have received twisted fuselages. It's not insurmountable but one needs to be aware of Chinese QC issues.