SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Nov 27, 2013, 09:29 AM
United States, TN, Martin
Joined Apr 2013
758 Posts
Question
Mixture Needles

I'm new to nitro, and read a great explanation here on RCG, of how to set the low end, from idle to 3/4 speed, and high from 3/4 to WOT, but which one is which on the engine? He mentioned that lean = taking fuel away, and rich = adding more, and I understand that statement.

I have an OS 15, 20, and now a 40. The only one in use at this time is the 15.

I would think one needle couldn't affect both settings, low/high.

Correct?
SayCheeze is offline Find More Posts by SayCheeze
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 27, 2013, 10:55 AM
team sleprock
United States, WA, Port Angeles
Joined Dec 2009
3,386 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SayCheeze View Post
I would think one needle couldn't affect both settings, low/high.Correct?
yes they do! if you open the high end( richen ) you must close the low end, ( lean out )

some people will call it "walking the tight rope"
I will try and get the engine running as good as possible with the high needle first!

then adjust the low end for best idle and throttle response,

again with the high end, now pulling the nose vertical,

then check and retune the low end if needed, if so then double check the high end!

P.s. the high end needle is usually the one most easily reached, and the low end usually has too be tuned with a small screw driver.

the low end needle usually takes very small adjustments
whiskykid is offline Find More Posts by whiskykid
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: great day!
Old Nov 27, 2013, 02:08 PM
Joined Apr 2013
758 Posts
Thanks whisky...

I'm kind of confused. Not based your reply.

Based on what a fellow told me today, that I bought a plane from. He fly's RC's and Ultra Lights.