HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Aug 14, 2012, 10:11 PM
BabyBootLegger
United States, CA, Alameda
Joined Nov 2010
656 Posts
Discussion
33% Hanger 9 Pawnee Airplane

The 33% scale Pawnee uses 80-100cc 2-cycle engines.
What would be a very good brushless motor replacement for the 100cc engine equivalent? The 80cc engine weighs 8Lbs., ready to run. The 100cc engine a little heavier.
sunworksco is offline Find More Posts by sunworksco
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 14, 2012, 10:32 PM
Balsa&Tissue
United States, OR, Beaverton
Joined Jan 2011
2,539 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by sunworksco View Post
The 33% scale Pawnee uses 80-100cc 2-cycle engines.
What would be a very good brushless motor replacement for the 100cc engine equivalent? The 80cc engine weighs 8Lbs., ready to run. The 100cc engine a little heavier.
I am not an expert on large scale planes but a 100cc motor is probably in the range of 10 horsepower.

750 watts equals about 1 hp so you need about 7.5 kw.

I have seen this plane fly on a 150cc and it did 3D maneuvers so 80-100cc ought to be fine. The Hacker Q80L produces about 7500 watts and with the right battery should work but it will cost a lot for the motor and battery but then again a 100cc 2 cylinder motor is about 800 bucks plus the gadgets to support a gas system.

http://www.chiefaircraft.com/radio-c...ac-a100-8.html

Dave
payne9999 is online now Find More Posts by payne9999
Last edited by payne9999; Aug 14, 2012 at 10:39 PM.
Old Aug 14, 2012, 10:41 PM
BabyBootLegger
Joined Nov 2010
656 Posts
Thanks for the Hacker info. Im looking at the motor now.
I have been reading about the new proven breakthroughs with the silicon foam anode/cathodes Lithium batteries by MIT and NorthWestern University.