SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Feb 10, 2015, 12:19 PM
And Repairs
Grapevine, TX
Joined Jan 2009
324 Posts
Discussion
Used Validol for someone new to DLG?

I'm sure this is opening a can of worms, but any thoughts would help.
I'm new to DLG, except for a few sessions with my Libelle, which I'm really enjoying. I got it as an entry level flyer. (and because I couldn't find a used Blaster 3).

A used (great condition), well built Validol has become available locally. Will need to decide quickly. There are some great local DLG pilots that are willing to help with my learning curve. Local competition is available if I ever get to that point.

My overall non-DLG taste usually goes more toward floaty more so than speed. That's one of the reasons I was interested in a Blaster 3. But with DLG I'm guessing that float vs speed is very relative.

I'm not a great thermaller now, but really want to get better. Seems like my current thermalling skills (with Radian) consist of luck and looking for vultures.

Any thoughts regarding a used Validol as an entry?
Other options are holding out for something else used -- maybe.
Building a new Blaster 3 or 3.5.

Of course I'm trying to find the "perfect" DLG for me rather than starting a collection.
Thanks
TyFlies is offline Find More Posts by TyFlies
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 10, 2015, 12:33 PM
Aurora Builder
United States, MD, Lusby
Joined Nov 2003
3,654 Posts
Ty,

I don't think you can find "the perfect" DLG for you, until you've tried a few!

I would get the Validol if I were you. It sounds like you have enough experience with other ships to know how to fly and launch. I'm sure the local seller will help you out with settings for the Validol.