Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Sep 19, 2012, 02:11 AM
Registered User
Frank.T's Avatar
Nederland, NH, Amsterdam
Joined Jul 2010
992 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_westie View Post
All firmware is the same.
Only unlocking firmware is unit specific.

The latest on YS site is
YS-X6-20120815-firmware-Enc.rar
http://zerouav.net/
No, it is serial number protected (for 16 waypoints).
Frank.T is offline Find More Posts by Frank.T
Last edited by Frank.T; Sep 19, 2012 at 03:24 AM.
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 20, 2012, 07:28 AM
Wish i was a flight pack
TNTJET's Avatar
Australia, NSW, Bass Hill
Joined Jan 2012
332 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Salocin View Post
Running the YS-X6 in X8, running nice (sorry, posted this on the other thread, but want to show off my YS)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aDsviqYYvyE
Nice video, very creative!!
TNTJET is offline Find More Posts by TNTJET
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Some Stuff
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2012, 11:47 PM
YS-X6 Know why it crashes,blog
New Zealand, Auckland
Joined Nov 2007
583 Posts
Another crash. Worst one yet.
Not a new bug but an old one I though I put behind me.

YS-X6 Crash due to shake/wind? (0 min 54 sec)


It was not that windy.
It gets a few gusts? on it's way back.
Sending the shake value to16-28.
Over 1.5s something happens that sends it up to 38.
It goes back to < 10 for 1.
Then starts ramping up again.
The frame is basically now oscillating and the FC has got no hope of recovery.
Tilts over the 60 degrees, motors cut off.
Craft rights itself and starts to fall/flip.
35m > 0m 2.5s
It lands head first as it is top heavy. On purpose.
From start of the oscillation to the motors cut off, 2.5s.
Had I been flying fpv, I may have been able to correct in time.


Possible contributors to the crash
-wind
-non rigid f550 frame
-slow pilot response?

- -

Damage
-bent batteries
-4 arms
-Gimbal
-Cover


Lessons for the future?
This particular configuration had been flown in much stronger wind with no issues.
This would have been it's 5th flight.
Had I been watching the GCS may have noticed the shake value spiking.
At that point I could have landed.
I will install a black box crash camera onboard.

I will now meet with my programmer friend and put together a stand alone alerter program I can run in the background.
It will monitor a few critical parameters and play a sound file.

I do have a more rigid frame in the works.


Why top heavy?
http://diydrones.com/forum/topics/pe...age=9#comments
Mr_westie is offline Find More Posts by Mr_westie
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2012, 12:40 AM
Registered User
United States, MN, St Cloud
Joined Jan 2012
477 Posts
Sorry to hear about your crash. I have my gimbal working better ,but still not smooth yet . I've also been trying to fly in 15 to 25 mph winds and I have to wonder if the gimbal itself is offering to much wind resistance, maybe it's time to look for a better option for a gimbal. good luck Westie
richkphoto is offline Find More Posts by richkphoto
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2012, 11:14 AM
Vulcan skyhook multirotor
Andre6553's Avatar
South Africa, GP, Pretoria
Joined Feb 2011
665 Posts
I think its time for you to through that frame away, that frames has an record off vibrations why would you risk your exspensive electronics on a rattle case.

Get a desent frame and do a clean and neat install on it sure you would be a happy customer.

One more thing your billet connectors tape then with insulation tape to keep them together and to make sure motor wires does not short.
Andre6553 is offline Find More Posts by Andre6553
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2012, 09:20 PM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2011
291 Posts
Wow nice. Is that Bathanga bridge? What type of props are you using and where did you buy them? I just converted my X8 into a hex. I had a few problems with the earlier props snapping in flight and had a major crash. Long story but Ill go back to the X8 later on.
SkippyTBK is offline Find More Posts by SkippyTBK
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2012, 09:22 PM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2011
291 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Salocin View Post
Running the YS-X6 in X8, running nice (sorry, posted this on the other thread, but want to show off my YS)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aDsviqYYvyE
Wow nice. Is that Bathanga bridge? What type of props are you using and where did you buy them? I just converted my X8 into a hex. I had a few problems with the earlier props snapping in flight and had a major crash. Long story but Ill go back to the X8 later on.
SkippyTBK is offline Find More Posts by SkippyTBK
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2012, 10:10 PM
Registered User
Salocin's Avatar
Joined Aug 2012
597 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SkippyTBK View Post
Wow nice. Is that Bathanga bridge? What type of props are you using and where did you buy them? I just converted my X8 into a hex. I had a few problems with the earlier props snapping in flight and had a major crash. Long story but Ill go back to the X8 later on.
Indeed that is Bethanga Bridge. Do you know the area? I'm only using some 1150 Graupner props till my new frame arrives (going hexa also). Then I'm selling the Droidworx ADX-4 frame (coax version). I'll remove all the electrics etc off it, and sell the frame only.
Salocin is offline Find More Posts by Salocin
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2012, 04:04 AM
jab
Unregistered User
Joined Aug 2007
1,057 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andre6553 View Post
I think its time for you to through that frame away, that frames has an record off vibrations why would you risk your exspensive electronics on a rattle case.

Get a desent frame and do a clean and neat install on it sure you would be a happy customer.

One more thing your billet connectors tape then with insulation tape to keep them together and to make sure motor wires does not short.
I agree with Andre. That frame/combination looks to be more problems then it is worth.
My YS-X6 carbon fiber octo with 15" propellers hover with shake as low as 1, and only have short spikes up to 3 when flying aggressive or in strong winds. Anything over 5-6 and I would start to look for alternatives.

Perhaps something like the xaircraft CF hexa frame? Reasonably cheap and compatible with your existing electronics. http://www.goodluckbuy.com/xaircraft...er-flight.html
jab is offline Find More Posts by jab
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2012, 06:05 AM
YS-X6 Know why it crashes,blog
New Zealand, Auckland
Joined Nov 2007
583 Posts
That combination is now retired
No more limp quad forme.

Building a Rusty based frame.
http://www.shop.aglhobbiesllc.com/

The plates were a little small for what I wanted to do so I drilled out the DJI plates.
Works great



Still not tidy as I have a few experiments to run first.
Overlaping props
http://www.multirotorforums.com/show...peller-Designs
Which will means the mounts will be shifted and rotated.

Will switch the arms over to CF for the final build.
Still trying to find the right motor.
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...2#post22817932
Mr_westie is offline Find More Posts by Mr_westie
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2012, 10:18 PM
Registered User
Salocin's Avatar
Joined Aug 2012
597 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_westie View Post
That combination is now retired
No more limp quad forme.

Building a Rusty based frame.
http://www.shop.aglhobbiesllc.com/

The plates were a little small for what I wanted to do so I drilled out the DJI plates.
Works great



Still not tidy as I have a few experiments to run first.
Overlaping props
http://www.multirotorforums.com/show...peller-Designs
Which will means the mounts will be shifted and rotated.

Will switch the arms over to CF for the final build.
Still trying to find the right motor.
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...2#post22817932
What a lovely ship.
Salocin is offline Find More Posts by Salocin
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 03:23 AM
Quiet Achiever
Joined Feb 2008
1,466 Posts
PPM Status

Any update on the PPM mode compatibility?
RYBAT is online now Find More Posts by RYBAT
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 01:59 PM
RTF copters maker
maximus-rc's Avatar
South France
Joined Jan 2008
1,186 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwijnhov View Post
O and i also found out why the android app crashes when sending data. It only works if you put your language in English of you use other european langage it will crash while sending data. I believe it is beceause in europe we use , instead of . as a seperator.
Hi,
I can confirm today that Android App crashes when I push "send" if tablet is on "french language"...works fine with US english !!!
Cheers
Maximus
maximus-rc is offline Find More Posts by maximus-rc
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 09:13 PM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2012
36 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by KariY View Post
Just found it, there they are all 88 flights data
Check this path from your iPhone: /var/mobile/Documents/YSwifi/hj/
there's nothing there, is there're anything I can do?

Elad
eladberger is offline Find More Posts by eladberger
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2012, 05:17 AM
Registered User
Finland, Uusimaa, HKI
Joined Jan 2012
286 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by eladberger View Post
there's nothing there, is there're anything I can do?

Elad
Just to confirm have you had iphone cgs running and copter in range of wifi all flight?
KariY is offline Find More Posts by KariY
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion YS-X6 testing GotHeliRC Multirotor Talk 1200 Aug 08, 2013 09:23 AM
New Product Test video of YS-X6 Autopilot system pzhang Multirotor Talk 141 Jun 07, 2012 06:50 AM
Discussion New UAV System from Zero UAV alishanmao UAV - Unmanned Aerial Vehicles 2 Apr 19, 2012 09:02 AM
New Product YS-X6:A coming new king in the multi rotor heli world yiny0730 Multirotor Talk 13 Mar 28, 2012 11:28 PM