New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Jun 30, 2015, 02:47 PM
kitetricks is offline
Find More Posts by kitetricks
Flying Object Crash Tester
United States, WA, Tacoma
Joined Jun 2013
690 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bhoov128 View Post
Get some thin music wire and make a hook in the end so you can work the servo extension plug through the tiny hole the wires run through. The servos are glued in with flexible glue, just slice down the sides with an xacto or other razor blade and gently work it back & forth lengthwise until it's free, then use the hook to guide out the servo extension connector. Be gentle with the servo as it's got no screws holding it together, just some brittle shrink wrap.

Putting a new one in is a snap, just connect the extension and drop it down through the fuse. You might need to use that hook again to pull it thru to the receiver tray. I suggest a few drops of foam-tac to hold the servo in, just in case it needs replacing again.
Also the rudder servo wiring passes through the elevator servo opening so if the elevator servo is pulled loose it helps by giving you a view hole and some extra space.
kitetricks is offline Find More Posts by kitetricks
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 30, 2015, 05:09 PM
AeroMaestro is offline
Find More Posts by AeroMaestro
Smasher of foam
AeroMaestro's Avatar
United States, OH, Stow
Joined Sep 2012
371 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bhoov128 View Post
Sorry, the man in question was FlyWW1, and he used an Emax motor from Headsuphobby.com, and the swap was done on the E-Flite Viking 280 (same power system.)

Here's a link to the post he made.
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...postcount=1777
Thanks! (And it just occurred to me that I have a spare motor from my QQ Edge that I can use. DUH!)
AeroMaestro is offline Find More Posts by AeroMaestro
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2015, 07:03 PM
dalecheek1 is online now
Find More Posts by dalecheek1
Registered User
United States, NC, Garner
Joined Nov 2012
3,072 Posts
05 18 15 Inverza Hovering & Harrying Low (4 min 11 sec)
dalecheek1 is online now Find More Posts by dalecheek1
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 01, 2015, 03:44 AM
SnapRoller is online now
Find More Posts by SnapRoller
Registered User
SnapRoller's Avatar
Joined May 2012
270 Posts
The original motor for these EF 280 Planes has great power but seems to be fragile. I also replaced mine and as I didn't want to spend more than 30$ for a motor this size I went with this one from HK.
http://hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store...er_1700kv.html
The power is great, very similar to the original. But itís quite some grams heavier, mostly due to the quit massive aluminium mount. I had†P.I.Engineer†3d print me a mount (2 pieces in one) in plastic. It worked out just great for a lot less money than the original motor.
SnapRoller is online now Find More Posts by SnapRoller
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 07, 2015, 09:35 AM
The Flying Pig is offline
Find More Posts by The Flying Pig
Registered User
The Flying Pig's Avatar
Oxford, UK
Joined Nov 2003
818 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kitetricks View Post
Also the rudder servo wiring passes through the elevator servo opening so if the elevator servo is pulled loose it helps by giving you a view hole and some extra space.
Getting the extension out isn't easy.

Have ordered some new gears - will try replacing those first.
The Flying Pig is offline Find More Posts by The Flying Pig
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 07, 2015, 10:25 AM
AeroMaestro is offline
Find More Posts by AeroMaestro
Smasher of foam
AeroMaestro's Avatar
United States, OH, Stow
Joined Sep 2012
371 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Flying Pig View Post
Getting the extension out isn't easy.
I got mine out OK, but when I was putting in a new servo and trying to drag the extension back through the fuselage, the extension and the servo wire came unplugged inside. I gave up and just taped the wire to the outside of the fuselage. I ain't ashamed.
AeroMaestro is offline Find More Posts by AeroMaestro
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 07, 2015, 10:57 AM
The Flying Pig is offline
Find More Posts by The Flying Pig
Registered User
The Flying Pig's Avatar
Oxford, UK
Joined Nov 2003
818 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AeroMaestro View Post
I got mine out OK, but when I was putting in a new servo and trying to drag the extension back through the fuselage, the extension and the servo wire came unplugged inside. I gave up and just taped the wire to the outside of the fuselage. I ain't ashamed.
That was possibly my next plan.
Why can't they add a little more money to the kit and supply a decent gear set?
The Flying Pig is offline Find More Posts by The Flying Pig
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 07, 2015, 11:53 AM
AeroMaestro is offline
Find More Posts by AeroMaestro
Smasher of foam
AeroMaestro's Avatar
United States, OH, Stow
Joined Sep 2012
371 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Flying Pig View Post
That was possibly my next plan.
Why can't they add a little more money to the kit and supply a decent gear set?
Beats me. My guess is they've got an agreement with one manufacturer to make all their servos, and in that size, the manufacturer can't/won't do metal gears. But that's pure speculation.

I've replaced my rudder and my right aileron servo so far. And I think my elevator is getting close to quitting. I've been replacing them with these, and they seem to work great. They've got the same connectors and the original e-flite servo horns fit on them just fine.
AeroMaestro is offline Find More Posts by AeroMaestro
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 07, 2015, 12:53 PM
The Flying Pig is offline
Find More Posts by The Flying Pig
Registered User
The Flying Pig's Avatar
Oxford, UK
Joined Nov 2003
818 Posts
Oh well, gives me some work to do changing the gear set while is too windy to fly.
The Flying Pig is offline Find More Posts by The Flying Pig
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 07, 2015, 01:21 PM
bhoov128 is offline
Find More Posts by bhoov128
John 20:1-18
bhoov128's Avatar
United States, FL, Davenport
Joined May 2012
11,930 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Flying Pig View Post
That was possibly my next plan.
Why can't they add a little more money to the kit and supply a decent gear set?
I added the little more money myself and retrofitted Hitec HS35HDs into mine, at $25+ per it was stupid expensive. These 280 planes are a great size and really do well but the servos put in them really is a sham for a small 170 dollar foamie.

Be careful of whatever servo you purchase - if you do purchase to replace - because if you're not using a proper premade adapter and are splicing wires, two of the wires are switched around, I forget which two but a search should reveal what you're after.
bhoov128 is offline Find More Posts by bhoov128
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Snice Slick
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools