HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old May 02, 2013, 01:08 PM
Registered User
Bolingbrook, IL
Joined Jan 2009
137 Posts
Discussion
FDR-PRO: Problem with Airspeed measurement

Hi Bill,

It is me again! After having problems with e-logger V4 and returning it (Ticket # 987882) I quickly purchased an FDR-PRO + 100A electric expander for our flight tests. I've just come from the field where I've installed FDR-PRO into 3 different planes (each equipped with ET pitot tubes on the wings far away from prop wash). It recorded everything (amps, volts, altitude, RPM) except for airspeed in each one of 3 planes. I think there might be a problem in the pitot sensor (total pressure sensor), static pressure sensor seems to be working though.

Is there any diagnostics that I can run to find out if that is the case? Or any suggestions to resolve the issue?

Thanks
Wise_Man is offline Find More Posts by Wise_Man
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old May 03, 2013, 07:29 AM
Registered User
Saline, MI
Joined Jul 2006
300 Posts
Did you enable airspeed recording in the hardware setup? That's the only reason I can think of for recording nothing.
dhares is offline Find More Posts by dhares
Reply With Quote
Old May 03, 2013, 09:59 AM
Registered User
Bolingbrook, IL
Joined Jan 2009
137 Posts
Yes, I enabled airspeed recording.

I also did a few experiments by gently applying mouth pressure into the pitot port and suction to the static pressure port. The former doesn't cause any change in airspeed but the latter cause an increase in altitude measurement. That makes me thing that pitot pressure sensor is not working at all.
Wise_Man is offline Find More Posts by Wise_Man
Reply With Quote
Old May 03, 2013, 04:55 PM
Registered User
Bolingbrook, IL
Joined Jan 2009
137 Posts
OK, Since I haven't heard back, I opened up a ticket (Ticket #751948).
Wise_Man is offline Find More Posts by Wise_Man
Reply With Quote
Old May 03, 2013, 05:16 PM
billpa's Avatar
Joined Nov 2003
4,934 Posts
Hi, we'll follow up with you in the ticket system.
billpa is offline Find More Posts by billpa
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! FDR-pro with OSD and Seagull Bumblebee2 Eagle Tree Systems 13 May 09, 2013 03:35 PM
Discussion FDR pro + Osd pro not working? ekozxx Eagle Tree Systems 10 Mar 07, 2013 08:06 PM