SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Oct 03, 2012, 05:21 PM
Registered User
United States, IL
Joined Sep 2012
106 Posts
Help!
Quad 450 wants to keep flipping over! Pics included...

I am pretty new to the quadcopter scene and cant figure out why my 450 wants to keep flipping over backwards! I am using Turnigy x9 with er9x set in simple 4 channel mode. Something I am missing or doing wrong?

Here are some pics so maybe someone can see if my wiring is wrong or something. Thank you.

BTW on the 9x RX : CH1 is Aileron, CH2 is Elevator, CH3 is Throttle, CH4 is Rudder, CH 7&8 are aux...



momofx is offline Find More Posts by momofx
Last edited by momofx; Oct 03, 2012 at 05:26 PM.
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 03, 2012, 05:31 PM
Registered User
gitit20's Avatar
Joined May 2012
587 Posts
Have you calibrated the ESC's to the flight controller?
gitit20 is offline Find More Posts by gitit20
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 03, 2012, 05:45 PM
Registered User
United States, IL
Joined Sep 2012
106 Posts
Honestly, I do not know if I did it right - here is what I did :

1. TX at full throttle and ON
2. Turn on KK2.0 while holding 1st and 4th button
3. Screen says "Calibrating ESCs"

I held it down until it stopped beeping completely. Now I just discovered that somwhere in that calibration process I was suppose to put the stick at zero throttle??? I am not sure where! Blueseries ESCs from HK...
momofx is offline Find More Posts by momofx
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 03, 2012, 08:39 PM
Too Many Thread Subscriptions
TheFernMan's Avatar
United States, FL, Miami
Joined Jul 2012
2,154 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by momofx View Post
Honestly, I do not know if I did it right - here is what I did :

1. TX at full throttle and ON
2. Turn on KK2.0 while holding 1st and 4th button
3. Screen says "Calibrating ESCs"

I held it down until it stopped beeping completely. Now I just discovered that somwhere in that calibration process I was suppose to put the stick at zero throttle??? I am not sure where! Blueseries ESCs from HK...
We def need to flash those ESCs lol

I did it right after the start up beeps. Throttle down.
Then a different beeps sounds. It's complete.
TheFernMan is online now Find More Posts by TheFernMan
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 03, 2012, 08:41 PM
Too Many Thread Subscriptions
TheFernMan's Avatar
United States, FL, Miami
Joined Jul 2012
2,154 Posts
What are your PID values?
If you didn't update you KK2 firmware then the default PID values are too high. They were meant for flashed ESCs. Which btw you could do with the BlueSeries you have.

Which ESCs do you have? 30amps?
TheFernMan is online now Find More Posts by TheFernMan
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 03, 2012, 09:57 PM
Registered User
United States, IL
Joined Sep 2012
106 Posts
Hello,

PI values are as follows ...

Aileron :

P Gain - 50
P Limit - 100
I Gain - 25
I Limit - 20

Elevation :

P Gain - 50
P Limit - 100
I Gain - 25
I Limit - 20

Yaw / Rudder :

P Gain - 50
P Limit - 50
I Gain - 25
I Limit - 10

No I did not update the KK2.0 Firmware which I just got from HK a few weeks ago - is that the latest firmware or do I still need to update it?

ESC is Blueseries 30A

Thanks! Hey also, I forgot to mention I am testing the Quad in a medium sized room - do you think that can have an effect on it and causing it to want to flip right away?
momofx is offline Find More Posts by momofx
Last edited by momofx; Oct 03, 2012 at 10:02 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 03, 2012, 10:08 PM
Too Many Thread Subscriptions
TheFernMan's Avatar
United States, FL, Miami
Joined Jul 2012
2,154 Posts
Over at the KK2 thread, some people have mod the 1.2 firmware. Theres one mod that auto level works faster but has one downside to it and someone else made a mod for another thing. I forgot right now.

The boards were coming with original 1.0 which was never made available to public. So once you flash to 1.2 (1.1 was not good. ESC calibration bug) you can't go back.

The update was really meant for people with tricopter and servos. Added a few more things but that was the big point.

Does the menu have a entry for ESC Calibration and entering that menu option show directions? If not, you have newer firmware. Some people had said that their boards are coming flashed already but I'm not certain.
TheFernMan is online now Find More Posts by TheFernMan
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 03, 2012, 10:09 PM
Too Many Thread Subscriptions
TheFernMan's Avatar
United States, FL, Miami
Joined Jul 2012
2,154 Posts
Start with I gain @ 0

The first page of the KK2 thread has a guide for tuning. Follow the guide.
TheFernMan is online now Find More Posts by TheFernMan
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 03, 2012, 10:14 PM
Too Many Thread Subscriptions
TheFernMan's Avatar
United States, FL, Miami
Joined Jul 2012
2,154 Posts
Just read your edit.

Yea you need some room. You cant hover close to the ground. That create prop wash. It's like turbulence.

Some people here will say give it some gas. You need to get it up!

But yea fix that flipping over issue first. ESCs calibration and make sure your motors are turning the right way. The props look on right. Motor one is clockwise with a reversed prop for example.

Maybe make a little video. That help too.
TheFernMan is online now Find More Posts by TheFernMan
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 03, 2012, 10:30 PM
Registered User
United States, IL
Joined Sep 2012
106 Posts
:o

Yeah the KK2.0 that I have does not have the help screen for the ESC calibration so it must be the latest one I think.

I re-did the ESC calibration and it still tries to flip but after reading your last post I am thinking its because of my room - LOL yeah I feel so silly - it makes sense about the turbulence lol - I will take it out first thing tomorrow and see if it gets up

I will keep you posted tomorrow - thanks alot Fernman. Much apprecciated
momofx is offline Find More Posts by momofx
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 03, 2012, 10:38 PM
Too Many Thread Subscriptions
TheFernMan's Avatar
United States, FL, Miami
Joined Jul 2012
2,154 Posts
Check the motor rotation and Be careful with the props too!

Start think about flashing them. They make a big difference in the performance.

Did you buy the atmel programmer?
TheFernMan is online now Find More Posts by TheFernMan
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 03, 2012, 10:43 PM
Registered User
NYREPZ's Avatar
Joined May 2012
64 Posts
I think you have the motor plugs wrong motor 1 should be top right motor 2 is top left motor 3 is bottom left and 4 is bottom right ,,,try it and see what happens
NYREPZ is offline Find More Posts by NYREPZ
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 03, 2012, 11:00 PM
Too Many Thread Subscriptions
TheFernMan's Avatar
United States, FL, Miami
Joined Jul 2012
2,154 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by NYREPZ View Post
I think you have the motor plugs wrong motor 1 should be top right motor 2 is top left motor 3 is bottom left and 4 is bottom right ,,,try it and see what happens
No you're wrong. The KK2 motor lay out is like he has it. M1 is top left and m2 is top right. His picture is fine.
TheFernMan is online now Find More Posts by TheFernMan
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 04, 2012, 01:05 AM
Registered User
Australia, VIC, Frankston
Joined Jul 2012
330 Posts
You could try calibrating the esc's one by one instead of through the KK2 board, that's what i ended up doing, apart from that a video would help more.
CH33ZEBURG3R is offline Find More Posts by CH33ZEBURG3R
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 04, 2012, 02:06 AM
Registered User
United States, IL
Joined Sep 2012
106 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheFernMan View Post
Check the motor rotation and Be careful with the props too!

Start think about flashing them. They make a big difference in the performance.

Did you buy the atmel programmer?
No, I regret not getting the programmer. I will order it soon. Are you talking about flashing the ESCs or the KK2.0 or both lol ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by CH33ZEBURG3R View Post
You could try calibrating the esc's one by one instead of through the KK2 board, that's what i ended up doing, apart from that a video would help more.
Hey I think I will try it that way

Once I am sure I got it done right, I will take it out to an isolated part of our local park Hopefully it will not end up in the cornfields nearby I will try to make a video by the weekend hopefully if I dont damage it
momofx is offline Find More Posts by momofx
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion my divinity II keeps flipping need help Wa7sh Foamies (Scratchbuilt) 5 Aug 24, 2012 08:19 PM
For Sale 450 size quad with KK2 and KDA motors etc. Bind and fly! Pics Added! Still for sale! tc3wins Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 6 Jul 24, 2012 09:12 AM
Help! violent flip over during quad startup Scooter619 Multirotor Talk 12 May 22, 2012 09:06 PM
Help! Quad wants to flip backwards WiseDuck Multirotor Talk 24 Nov 04, 2011 03:17 PM
Help! Quad flips over! quailbird Multirotor Talk 11 Jan 27, 2011 09:34 PM