SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Jan 09, 2006, 05:22 PM
United States, UT, Orem
Joined Jan 2006
504 Posts
Question
Building my trainer from modified cheap glider.

Hi Everyone.

I am just getting started in R/C flying, I wanted to ask your oppinions on whether the power U2 glider conversion, http://www.rcgroups.com/links/index.php?id=3321, would be a good starter plane for a beginner?

The author said that it is fairly slow and quite stable, so this sounded good to me. I also really like the price. I'd much rather crash a $20 airframe than an $80+ airframe.

Please let me know what you think.

Thanks.
iceburg47 is offline Find More Posts by iceburg47
Last edited by iceburg47; Jan 09, 2006 at 07:48 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 09, 2006, 08:48 PM
Promoting Model Aviation...
United States, CA, Tehachapi
Joined Nov 2005
25,090 Posts
I don't have any experience with that model, but if this is your first crack at building a flying plane, then it might not be such a good idea. There are a lot of things one must know to get a flyable model in the air and be able to keep it in the air. Not to mention the pilots ability to do so.

If you can let us know your budget, you have come to the right place for ideas/opinions. --We have lots of them.

PS Welcome!
Murocflyer is online now Find More Posts by Murocflyer
Old Jan 10, 2006, 12:23 AM
United States, UT, Orem
Joined Jan 2006
504 Posts
The main thing that I am looking for is an innexpensive, stable, relatively slow air frame. However, I intend to put some investment into my Tx, ESC and such so that I can use them in the future.

I thought that this looked like a good idea for a couple reasons. First, the price. Second, it seams that the glider was designed to be easily converted for electric flight (the manufacturer even states this). And third, I am hoping that since it was designed to be a free flight glider it would be very stable.