HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Closed Thread
This thread is privately moderated by jrej, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Old Jan 29, 2013, 03:25 PM
Joe
Bend, OR
Joined Jun 2010
18 Posts
Trader Rating: 17
Sold
Glider Winch -- Any interest in this?

Back in the early 70's I worked as a machinist and flew gliders. The hi-starts got old real fast, so I built this winch. I machined the drum and attached it to a Ford longshaft starter motor (I believe it's a 12v motor). I used a 6v Volkswagen battery, which gave me a slower speed with more torque. You can see the turnaround I came up with, and it works pretty good. I used a few large tent stakes to anchor everything down. The center of the drum is (guessing here) about 3-1/2" and the outside is 8" dia. The base is 14" x 18" and has a transport handle cut into it. As I remember, I went to the local fishing store and had them put 800 yds of dacron 100# line on it, enough to go 4 football fields end to end, and return. Haha, rarely did I ever find a site that big, so maybe I was just dreaming! You drop the battery into the base and attach the heavy cables. Inside the grey box is a starter solonoid for low current switching, with a cabled foot switch that plugs into it. You'll also see another switch on the box that I used for rewinding at the end of the day. I never put a brake on it because I learned to let the plane spool the line back out at the near end of the launch. In ideal conditions I could have the chute land *behind* me and get some outrageous launches. My Olympic II weighed maybe 3 lbs, and if I didn't tap the switch cautiously it would bend my main wing rod 1/4" hardened steel! It's got some serious torque, but I couldn't tell you where it would max out for really big planes. I've got a nice chute for it too.