Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Feb 22, 2012, 12:48 AM
United States, SD, Sioux Falls
Joined Jun 2011
89 Posts
Discussion
Unsticking a seized carb

I was pretty proud of myself in tearing down a seized TT gp42 and cleaning a 10 minute bench run years ago leaving a freely turning motor. (YouTube is great)
I am still very new to the hobby and this is my first attempt.
However the carb is seized solid. I have it soaking in the garage right now in fuel....(though it is very cold out there) will that do anything or do I need to rinse it and apply heat?

Or what is the best way to save it rather than buying a new one?

All advice is appreciated to get this motor back running

Steve
dragonsm is offline Find More Posts by dragonsm
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 22, 2012, 01:51 AM
Joined Jun 2011
1,514 Posts
They don't seize unless damaged. It's just gummed up with oil. Soak it in fuel or alcohol and work it open and shut. It will free up.
datsunguy is offline Find More Posts by datsunguy
Old Feb 22, 2012, 02:28 AM
Sydney Australia
Joined Mar 2005
895 Posts
Put the carb in hot (not boiling) water for a while then try to move the barrel while it's still hot.
Don't forget to use gloves!

Once you have it apart, cleaned, dried & operating o.k. make sure you re oil it to prevent corrosion. - John.
Boomerang1 is offline Find More Posts by Boomerang1
Old Feb 22, 2012, 03:30 AM
Who Dat!
United States, LA, New Orleans
Joined Sep 2011
650 Posts
I agree with datsunguy. It's most likely just gummed up oil. It can make it seem like its seized. Alcohol will work and so will heat. I've had luck with heating them up with a hair dryer.
GeetarJoe is offline Find More Posts by GeetarJoe
Old Feb 22, 2012, 03:33 PM
Joined Jun 2011
1,514 Posts
Yup, heat is a good idea
datsunguy is offline Find More Posts by datsunguy
Old Feb 22, 2012, 03:39 PM
The windy west coast of Sweden
Joined Sep 2008
2,815 Posts