HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 02, 2003, 04:44 PM
Fixed Wing Fanatic
United States, TX, McKinney
Joined Jul 2001
2,344 Posts
Putting pc power supplies in paralell

I have been using a pc power supply for several months now to feed my Supernova. I followed the instructions here and it worked great. Having read many of the threads here, I've gathered that I'm getting all the watts I can from it since it's one of the cheap 250W Taiwan specials. The problem is that when I try to charge my big 1300+ SCR 10 cell packs, I have to limit the Supernova to 3 amps. If I punch Auto mode the charger starts trying to pump 5 amps at 16-18 volts into the packs and then shuts off complaining of "input voltage too low".

Someone mentioned putting two pc supplies in paralell to increase the available watts. Does anyone have some specific instructions on how to do this? I've done a search and read several threads without finding the answer.

Thanks in advance!!
Jim Walker is offline Find More Posts by Jim Walker
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 02, 2003, 10:18 PM
Los Angeles, California
Joined Apr 2002
923 Posts
Try to increase your load on the 5v should boost the amps on the 12v output.
aau007 is offline Find More Posts by aau007
Old Jan 03, 2003, 12:21 AM
USA, NY, Jamestown
Joined Jun 2000
2,910 Posts
I believe a power resistor on the 5V line is what I put on. I bought it at Radio Shack. 8 Ohm maybe. Some just use a auto tail light bulb.
JoeR is offline Find More Posts by JoeR
Old Jan 03, 2003, 02:18 AM
Los Angeles, California
Joined Apr 2002
923 Posts
The document I read has said to use a 1 or 2 ohm resister. I have seen that at Radio Shack and it looks like a long rectangular white ceramic stick.
Old Jan 03, 2003, 10:29 AM
USA, NY, Jamestown
Joined Jun 2000
2,910 Posts
Quote:
Originally posted by aau007
The document I read has said to use a 1 or 2 ohm resister. I have seen that at Radio Shack and it looks like a long rectangular white ceramic stick.