Old Mar 08, 2015, 02:37 PM
Find More Posts by I are me
Newbie in training
United States, VA
Joined Mar 2015
44 Posts
Question
Possibilty? Or impossibility? -Beginner 3D Bipe

So, I've been really wanting a sporty, sleek plane since I was like 10 years old, and now that I have some experience with 4 channel flight (tried to do an outside loop with a sport cub S if it explains my boredom, my prop shaft was very angry with me afterwards!) I wonder if that dream is possible soon.

28" wingspan (tested one wing already, INSANE lift when swinging it with hand.)

my goal.
-Achieve ability to take off and land on grass during 5+mph gusts
-Ability to modify it easily, given I would know the entire construction.
-Ability to fly slowly in a backyard or normally at a park
-Ability to learn 3D at a low cost.

Obviously, if this sounds stupid, do not be afraid to say so, ambition has been my killer before. If this would not work, I'd like a clue as to what might suit me. I also have paper plans if what you see looks good and you want to try it,
I are me is offline Find More Posts by I are me
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 08, 2015, 03:27 PM
Find More Posts by springer
treefinder
SE MI
Joined Oct 2004
10,411 Posts
That "looks about right" to me. Your sketchup skills are showing too!

I like the tundra tires, looks a lot like most of my planes for flying off grass. They will add drag, and may affect the handling some, but are worth it if you are on grass.

On the cabanes, I would probably do two instead of one in the center, a bit stronger connection, but that's just me, may well not be needed.
springer is online now Find More Posts by springer
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: even more indoor stuff!
Old Mar 08, 2015, 04:38 PM
Find More Posts by dz1sfb
Slipping the Surly Bonds
Attica, MI
Joined Dec 2006
11,104 Posts